Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Thank you - just what I was looking for! The cookies held their shape and were thick and yummy. Also added almond extract to the dough. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdfarm1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These tasted awsome. The texture was exactly was I wanted. They remind me of the cookies at the grocery store, which I love. All though I wish I could find a sub for egg yolks. Makes me feel guilty when I eat 20 cookies in one sitting:) I only made one change. I used splenda in place of the sugar. The dough was great and I didnt have to chill or flour my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I scaled the recipe to 18 servings and at that size used two eggs instead of 1 egg and 1 1/2 yolks. I wouldn't really call this a sugar cookie, it reminds me of an Italian cookie recipe I've made before. The dough is rather soft so it can be difficult to transfer the cutouts to the cookie sheet without distorting them. They puff up a bit. They do stay nice and soft and taste good, they are a nice change from sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
My 4 yr old son and I made the dough 2 days ago, then yesterday we rolled, cut out, baked and iced...They are FANTASTIC! If you like cake-like cookies then these will be to your taste. They are moist thick and tasty. Note that in the directions they forget to mention adding the vanilla...I added it with the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!! It is so completely fail proof (which is the best thing ever when you have a 3 and 4 year old helping). They taste great and are thick and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
They were sooo yummy. i might use them in my cooking class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Yummmy! I didnt have any vanilla extract so I used half a vanilla bean and 1 tsp almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
The cookies are wonder ful! So yummy! However, the vanilla is not in the directions, only listed in the ingrediants, so we forgot to put it in, but even without it they were spectacular. Also I had to use my own old recipie for frosting. The 4 cups powdered sugar to 1/4 cup oil did not work at all. At least not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LNaccarato

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
These are the BEST cookies! I decided to make several batches to feed a large wrestling team(65 boys) I should have given myself more time cause I was rushed. But they were so much fun to make. The icing is excellant. You can choose how thick you want the cookies, the layers of icing, and double up on the batch with the same results everytime. Thanks Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I hated these, but my husband who likes desserts that aren't too sweet thought they were good. Maybe it's because I wasn't making a cookie that I wanted to taste frosting. Without the frosting these are VERY bland- I ended up putting bluberry jelly on mine and eating it like a biscuit. I added extra sugar, vanilla, and some lemon extract after reading the reviews that these tended on the bland side and they are still too bland. Maybe I should have used almond extract instead, but the recipe as written is so far from the sweet sugar cookies I enjoy that I can't even recommend this as a base recipe. If you like to have just a hint of sweetness or enjoy the taste of icing over the cookie flavor this recipe might work perfectly for you since they do have a great texture and consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States