Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
These were great! I would not add more sugar - I thought they were just right as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Easy to make but didn't have any flavor. Must add almond extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Absolutely perfect! These cookies taste exactly lime the ones from Cookies by Design! I was having a difficult time finding a recipe that held its shape without being dry. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and added 1/4 cup more sugar as well as almond extract (I just poured the stuff in as I LOVE it!) hands down this is the BEST homemade cookie recipe you'll ever need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Smiling Chef
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These are delicious sugar cookies that are perfect for the holidays. I purchased small Christmas cut outs at Sur La Table and made a homeade whipped chocolate ganache from Martha Stewart. I frosted them together with the chocolate and some strawberry jam for variety and they turned out to be sweet Christmas gifts once dusted with powdered sugar. I will definetly be making these next Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Smiling Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
The people who've given this cookie one star must be inexperienced with baking, which is more than just popping things in the oven. You have to know how to mix dough, remember to do wet ingredients first, then dry. If you over-mix anything with flour in it you will have a bad cookie--you want to mix it just enough to incorporate the wet and dry ingredients. I'm so glad I ignored the bad reviews on this one. Anywho, I was looking for a Cheryl & Co. style cookie, and this is IT. I halved the recipe, and ended up with two dozen Cheryl & Co sized cut-out cookies. They are soft and delicious and everyone who tries them thinks they are wonderful! If you are looking for a sugar cookie that tastes like sugar, this is not for you. These are traditional sugar cookie cut-outs, that have just a hint of vanilla/sugar sweetness if you don't add the icing. Great with tea or hot cocoa. The dough was incredibly easy to work with, not messy AT ALL. I had it in the fridge over night prior to rolling it out. I greased the pan with butter spray on parchment paper, and had no issues at all--nine minutes in the oven. I can honestly say it was one of the LEAST sticky doughs I have worked with. If the dough is sticking, pop it back in the fridge until it is chilled, like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
The perfect cookie for cut outs. I have long searched for a sugar cookie recipe that was easy to roll out, easy to cut and one that held its shape in the oven that was not brittle or crispy when baked. These cookies rolled out like a dream, held their shape and they are nice and soft. Perfect with just a little sprinkling of sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made a batch to bake Christmas cut out cookies for my coworkers and they all loved it! I love these too! These are just what I've always been looking for in a cut out sugar cookie - easy to work with, doesn't spread a ton while baking, thick, sturdy yet still soft inside! In my oven it took exactly 10 minutes to bake perfectly so I'd suggest watching your cookies closely for doneness. And I used 1 T of vanilla extract and 1 t of almond extract instead of the 1.5 t vanilla extract because I want extra flavor. I added the extra 1/4 C of sugar as suggested but I won't do that going forward since I iced my cookies and found it to be a little too sweet (and I like sweet). I didn't use the icing recipe from this recipe (I used a different one that calls for confectioners' sugar, milk/water, corn syrup, and flavoring extract) and this was perfection! I will be using this as my "go to" sugar cookie cut out recipe from now on!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!***Update*** This is the only sugar cookie cut-out recipe with the minor alterations I listed above that I'll ever use or need. Hands down best cut-out sugar cookies for any occasion EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These are so good. The only thing I changed was that I used a standard confectioners sugar icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are THE BEST COOKIES ever!! I did not change a thing. Everytime I make these someone is asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill N Kristen Wiese

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These cookies were PHENOMENAL!! they poofed up into a nice, thick, soft, perfect cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States