Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Do these freeze well? If so, what is the best way to thaw?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pcskinner
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Absolutely LOVED this cookie recipe....I halved it because I only had 5 eggs on hand. It still made a nice bunch of cookies. I did not use the frosting recipe listed but stuck to my old standard icing. Love the Almond flavor and the slight crunch at first bite but soft inside. :-) They kept their shape so the Rabbits, chicks, and carrots stayed nice for decorating. I rolled my dough to about 3/8 inch rather than 1/2 just so I could make more with half batch recipe and they were still plenty BIG and FAT....see my photo above. :-) Happy Easter baking everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pcskinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I LOVE the taste of this cookie! I was looking for a thick, dense sugar cookie...this is it! Made according to recipe except that I added 1/2 tsp almond extract. I used my own recipe for the frosting and they were perfect! My only drawback is that they somewhat lost their shape when cooking, even though I chilled the cookies for 15 minutes after rolling them out. Now I'm on a search to solve that dilemma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenhurst, Georgia, USA
Living In: Colfax, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Agree with most-these are easy cookies to make, but somewhat bland in taste. I added 3 tablespoons of orange juice when creaming the butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These cookies are so delicious! I didn't get 75 cookies out of the batch. I might have made them on the thicker side which made them cake like. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I'm taking 1 star away due to confusion in the ingredients and directions (maybe it'll get edited so you don't have the same problem). The ingredients do not designate what is for the cookie and what is for the icing, but after reading it was pretty easy to separate what's what, except that the vanilla in the icing directions calls for 1 tsp but on ingredients list you have 2 listings for vanilla. One for a half tsp the other for 1 1/2 tsp. Which one to use for the cookie? We'll there enters the other problem. If you follow the directions it never tells you to add vanilla in the cookie directions. So, I went through the making of the recipe, put it in the frig, and then realized she had vanilla in the ingredients for the cookie. Took it back out, but didn't know how much to add; 1/2 tsp or 1 1/2 tsp. I ended up, thankfully just reading what other reviewers said and added 1/4 cup more sugar, 1Tbl of vanilla extract and 1tsp of almond extract. Now with all said and done, the cookies are yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Just like the description says.....big soft sugar cookies! I cut the recipe in half because I didn't want 75 cookies like the serving states. After halving it, I ended up with only 25 cookies! But they are delicious. I live in SD and temps have been -10 to -20 during the day, so I set my dough outside 7 min to chill. The dough was a little on the hard side, oops!, but oh so easy to work with. I've frosted them and ate 3 cookies already. YUM! I can see where adding almond extract would be a delicious enhancer-might try that next time. Thanks for the great recipe and Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Love Love Love this recipe... I add almond extract ( 1tsp ) in addition to the vanilla extract.. in the frosting as well...also I roll them out to be a bit thicker so it doesn't make 75 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This cookie was alright but it was more of a short-bread cookie and not a sugar one. It was not very fluffy or sweet. We even doubled the sugar and the vanilla. But we did dip half of the cookie in hardening chocolate and it was quite good. I would use it again if i wanted short-bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States