Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This is an awesome recipe!!!! The dough was so much easier to work with than other recipes I've tried (after chilling). The cookies kept their shape when baking. The description was exactly on target: big, soft sugar cookies. Just like the bakery ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
The best recipe I've found on this site or anywhere for cut out cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
These cookies were delicious and soooooo easy to work with!!! I used 1 tsp. of vanilla and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. I also substituted whipping creme for the 6 egg yolks (about 1 tbsp. for each yolk). If you have a hard time making sugar cookies, this would be a good recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is THE sugar cookie recipe I have been wanting to make for years! I had received cookie boquets when my kids were born and I had not tasted sugar cookies that good since! These are perfect. I made these really thick and used big cookie cutters about 4-6" so I only got about 3 dozen cookies but they are delicious! I used parchment paper instead of greasing the cookie sheets. Thanks for the recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
I rolled them thick, cut out leaves, and frosted with a hardening glaze. Wonderful. Sturdy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TREADE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
This was exactly the recipe that I was looking for. The cookies stayed soft, at least for the little bit of time that they stuck around. This one is going in my recipe box for whenever I want sugar cookies! The perfect cutout sugar cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
These are so yummy! They are really soft and thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
This was without a doubt the most amazing cut out cookie recipe I have ever made. I only decorated them with colored sugar crystals before baking. I had many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Campbell Gongaware

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Mifflin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I really liked this recipe and will use it again. It was easy to make and the cookies baked up nice and soft but held their shape well. They were great to frost & decorate. I do, however, agree that they could have used a little more flavor. Maybe double the vanilla or add some almond extract, but the frosting does sweeten them up. They sure disappeared fast! Thanks for sharing your recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This was absolutely the best cut-out recipe I have ever made.... I made them on Valentine's day for my boyfriend and he loved them. The icing was the perfect touch also, I added milk instead of hot water, and to the batter about 1/4 cup more sugar.... I'm definately making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States