Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nikki
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Sugar cookies are my favorite cookies to make and these are the only ones I will EVER make again! I always add extra almond extract and they are So big and delicious! I've made them so many times that people just expect them for every holiday! I don't use this icing recipe, instead I make it with corn syrup and different flavored extracts.... I let the iced cookies set overnight and the are so stackable and ship Very well. For Valentines day, I made pink icing with strawberry extract and red icing with raspberry extract. I always put them in cute printed cellophane treat bags and give them to everyone in my family and everyone at work. (and I always save a few for myself)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
These cookies were very good! To tell the truth, I really debated whether or not to make them since a few people really did not like them at all. I thought what the heck -- I like to bake and it would really not be that big of a deal if we didn't like them. I cut the recipe in half and ended up with 28 thick, soft cookies. I added a little almond to the dough, as others had done, just to give it a little flavor. I'm not sure what those who didn't like them are looking for. They were very easy to make, and the dough was easy to handle. The final cookie is a little shortbread-like. We really liked them and will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
These really are soft and perfect. I have been looking for a good sugar cookie cut out recipe and this is the one. Upon reading other reviews, I doubled the vanilla and added about 3/4 teaspoon almond extract. I also increased the sugar by 1/4 cup. I refrigerated the dough for about two hours and it was so easy to work with. When I baked them, I put them on a silpat liner and the bottoms didn't even brown. I made hearts for Valentine's Day, and I put them, unfrosted, in the freezer. I will take them out and thaw them when I am ready to frost them. Yummy cookies! They remind me of a homemade version of Cheryl & Co.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane S
Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
The recipe I've been looking for forever! They remind me of the ones you can get at "Dutch" restaurant bakeries. Yes, the recipe neglects to tell you to add the vanilla extract, but come on folks! Add it with/after the eggs. I did double the vanilla, added around 3/4 teaspoon of almond extract, and added 1/4 cup of sugar as suggested by others because I like a sweeter cookie. Perfect flavor! Matched great with the "Sugar Cookie Icing" recipe on this site (not the icing recipe given). You don't need to add flour; stick in the fridge for an hour, put flour on your rolling surface, a bit on your rolling pin, and a sprinkle on the dough you're going to roll out - no sticking! I baked them for a total of 10 minutes, turning the sheet around in the oven at 5 minutes because my oven doesn't heat evenly on both sides unless I do so. In my case, I had to watch the bottoms carefully - a teeny bit of golden color and they were DONE. People are always so impressed with these! I hate reading the extremely low star reviews for this recipe...people, learn the basics of cookie making (cream your butter/sugar thoroughly, don't over-mix the flour, use fresh baking powder/soda, learn the signs of doneness, etc.) before you complain about a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
The only reason i didnt rate the a 5* was because i thought it lacked a touch of more flavor. THIS IS A GREAT COOKIE, but next time i am going add some Almond Extract and see if it fixes it. The dough is Very Easy to work with! I think one should watch the clock carefully on these and not go to or over 10mins! PS.(THE # OF EGGS IS CORRECT)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
These cookies were delicious and soooooo easy to work with!!! I used 1 tsp. of vanilla and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. I also substituted whipping creme for the 6 egg yolks (about 1 tbsp. for each yolk). If you have a hard time making sugar cookies, this would be a good recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Excellent! With a little almond extract, they are exactly like the ones from Cookies by Design(cookie bouquets). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindy026
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Awesome recipe! I was looking for the perfect cookies for my sister-in-law' babyshower, and I'm so glad I used these. I baked these in the shape of baby carriages and bottles, and then used the icing recipe called "Sugar Cookie Icing" from this site. I copied the colors and piping from the Cookies by Design website and they came out PERFECT!!! Now everyone in the family calls me Martha Stewart :). If baking for a more adult crowd and using icing, only use this recipe's amount of sugar otherwise I think they would be too sweet. If you don't plan on decorating, definitly add a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy026

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
My cookies must have been mondo because I only got 30 from this recipe. I rolled them 1/2 inch thick and used a 3 1/2 inch heart cookie cutter. I used 2 tsp. mexican vanilla and 2 tsp. almond extract. I needed to cook them about 11 minutes or they were still doughy inside. They also spread a bit more than I thought they would so leave room between them when baking. They tasted GREAT! Not too sweet and with icing they were perfect. No sugar coma here. The dough was wonderful to work with. I used a floured pastry cloth to roll it out on and a rolling pin cover. I didn't have any problem with it sticking. I usually don't make roll out cookies because I haven't found a good dough that doesn't stick. This was the exception. I'll make these again. Hubby and kids loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is THE sugar cookie recipe I have been wanting to make for years! I had received cookie boquets when my kids were born and I had not tasted sugar cookies that good since! These are perfect. I made these really thick and used big cookie cutters about 4-6" so I only got about 3 dozen cookies but they are delicious! I used parchment paper instead of greasing the cookie sheets. Thanks for the recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States