Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I just love this cookie recipe and so did my family! This is the 1st time making them and they are great! This will be the only cut-out cookie that I will be making! I didn't change a thing with the recipe. My husband said that they are very addicting! I made them last weekend for a friend of the family who races cars. They were perfect for cutting out in the shape of his race car and decorating exactly like his car. The dough is very easy to work with and they actually looked and tasted professional. Too bad I forgot to take a picture of them! I am going to make them today for a picnic in the shape of flowers! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahanoy City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I made these for my Dad for Father's Day. I am extremely impressed by them. The dough was super easy to mix up. I did add some almond and butter flavoring just because others did and I had it on hand. I refrigerated the dough overnight and just took out what I was rolling at the time and let the rest in to stay cool. I did have to use quite a bit of extra flour in order to get them to roll well. The dough was pretty sticky but nothing common sense couldn't fix. Extra flour did the trick. The stability of the cookie after it was baked was impressive. Nice and soft and thick but held the frosting so beautifully. PERFECT COOKIES! I made my own icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Five stars because I think it's really difficult to find a great cut-out cookie recipe! Like others I also added some extracts: 2tsp almond and 1/2 tsp butter - though 1 tsp butter probably would have been ok too. This has given these cookies the PERFECT flavor. That said - I haven't even cooked them yet! So far they are just dough - but the dough is amazing haha! I wanted a recipe because I wanted to make my father-in-law a nice batch of cookies for Father's Day like they have at those expensive designer cookie shops at *gasp* $8 per cookie! That's insane to me. These are going to taste even better! I'll post an update and a photo after they are finished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Right now, this is the only cookie recipe I use. However, I do change it a bit, so I only gave it four stars. I add 1 Tbsp. of vanilla, 1 tsp butter extract, and I use butter flavored crisco in place of half of the butter to prevent spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Used these for a birthday party with just a basic Royal icing. Without the icing, they were just ok, but having said that, they were just right with it. Perfect really. And rolled out and baked up perfectly. I topped them with those printed cupcake toppers I purchased, and they had each child's name on them, perfect treat/place setting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I was in the market for a big, soft sugar cookie and this recipe didn't disappoint. The only change I made was to add 2 teaspoons of vanilla and one teaspoon of almond extract (per other reviewers' suggestions). These cookies represent a big investment in time, effort, and ingredients, but I think they're worth it! I didn't make the frosting because I already had some leftover. They were great for Valentine's Day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
A great cut-out sugar cookie!! I doubled the vanilla, but that was the only change. When I baked these, I did bake them on parchment paper. They spread out a little bit, but kept their shape very well. The cookies are soft, but still sturdy enough for frosting and decoration. I have searched long & hard for the perfect sugar cookie recipe, and this is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ziprose
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
The cookies are fantastic. Taste great and nice and stable for decorating. The frosting however didn't really do it for me. It was too clear for my taste and has an oily sheen that really isn't all that appealing. Next time I go with royal icing. addendum- I sent these cookies, decorated with the frosting included in the recipe, around the country. I spent a couple hours baking and decorating them only to find out, when sent pictures by the recipients of the gifts they received, that the white frosting dried clear and the colored frosting simply sunk into the red background so all of my decorating was wasted. I will never use this frosting again and suggest that you don't either if you will be doing anything other than just glazing a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziprose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
love this cut out cookie! I add almond extract and it makes a huge difference. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly H.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I love this cookie recipe! It is so yummy and not too sweet! You'll definitely want to refrigerate the dough. I refrigerated mine overnight and it was perfect! Remember to refrigerate any scraps you want to re-roll and cut out. Once the dough warms up it's difficult to work with. I didn't use the frosting listed on this recipe. Instead I used the 'sugar cookie icing' recipe listed on the site. I made these for Christmas and got multiple requests for more. I'll be making them for Valentine's Day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States