Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by jenna4
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Excellent cookie - easy to make and they come out firm but soft. Good taste too - not too sweet so goes well with frosting. This will be my official cutout recipe from now on, it's the one I've been looking for. The only thing I changed was I used 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp almond extract. One thing to note - this makes a very large batch, which is great if you're making Christmas cookies, but consider halving it if you don't want that many. Also, when the cookies are done they are still the same color as the dough - so don't wait for them to brown or you might not like the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I've been looking for a sugar recipe like this for a loooooong time! It's fantastic. Thanks!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Perfect texture! Very good cookie, I'd give it 5 stars but, the Cheryl's cookies are quite a bit sweeter (had some on hand, so I know for sure). Next time I think I'll try substituting some 10x sugar for the regular. Oh, and while the recipe looks massive, its a pretty normal sized. I made them super thick and got probably 30-40 cookies. Thanks for the recipe! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was my first time making cut outs and this recipe was easy and tasty! I made enough cookies for a bridal shower with just one batch of dough. I had such great feedback that I made a batch of Christmas Cookies as well! Easy to follow and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Had to look twice at recipe regarding how many eggs it called for. (Yes, it is right.) I added almond flavoring instead of vanilla. Dough was simply great to work with. I was very pleased with results from this recipe and will use this as my cut-out cookie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Okay, so I feel like a ding-a-ling with this recipe. Please read the entire recipe as I added the 4 cups of powdered sugar in to my mixture! I still make the batter as I couldn't see wasting all that butter. Perhaps if you see this same recipe with 4 cups powdered sugar added, it will be my revised one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drbiffswife
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I thought this was petty good. I wasn't paying attention and grabbed the baking soda instead of powder and didn't realize until I had added it. I decided to go ahead and add the powder as well. My first couple of patches puffed up a lot but in later batches, I olled the dough thinner and baked them slightly longer and that seemed to fix my mistake. I will need to make this again the correct way to seem if it comes up to a 5 star. I put it as a 4 star because the taste wasn't 100% what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Wow....Excellent Recipe....I did add the additional 1/4 cup sugar, doubled the vanilla, and added about a teaspoon of almond extract, as others had suggested. I made the dough up yesterday, and let it chill overnight, it was very easy to work with. I used a 3 1/2 inch round cookie cutter and got 2 1/2 dozen of cookies, which is plenty for my family. Instead of greasing the pans, I used parchment paper, I baked for 10 minutes, I did let them rest on the pan for about 5 minutes before placing them on the racks to finish cooling. To decorate I used the "Sugar Cookie Frosting" from this site, then just added different sprinkles. One thing I did do is put the dough back into the fridge, while the other cookies baked, when the dough gets warm it is harder to work with, so keep it chilled. I also dusted any excess flour off both sides of the cookie before baking, I always do this, I don't like flour caked onto a cookie after it is baked, plus it doesn't look pretty. Another thing is just take your time, don't try to rush, have fun making the cookies, even my little guy (3 year old) had fun helping make the dough, and decorate the cookies. My hubby said if he wasn't home to see us make them, he would of thought I bought them from a bakery. They not only look professional, but taste it as well. This is now our new sugar cookie recipe. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, also Thanks to those that have given advice on "tweaking" the recipe for additiional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
THE best sugar cookie recipe EVER! I've never cared for sugar cookies, but these ones are dangerous to have around. They taste like the gourmet kind you pay $4 for at the coffee shop. I'll never make another kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I have been searching for an awesome sugar cookie with more flavor. These looke promising, and I even added a little almond extract and vanilla butter & nut extract. Still, they were very bland, except for the overwheming eggy flavor, which I did not like. I even made the cookies with one less egg yolk than it calls for. I guess my search will continue...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Howard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States