Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
These are amazing! My husband loves sugar cookies and I have tried several recipes over the years but I have finally found a winner. Like many of the reviewers suggested, I added 1 T. vanilla extract and found that amount to be perfect. I also baked on parchment paper rather than greased cookie sheets and had no problems with sticking. The orginal recipe made too much for my small family so I found that scaling the servings to 38 made about 12 large thick cookies and the ingredient measurements were managable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Silver Ghost
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I increased the sugar by about 1/4 cup., glad I did, it has a nice sugary flavor. Made the dough 1, 2, 3, it mixed like a dream. Refrigerated it for 2 days til the weekend. Took out about 3 hours prior and then rolled out chunks at a time on a well floured board and with a well floured rolling pin., They rolled out quick and easy no problem transporting them to sheets. Rolled them out thick. The bottoms are barely brown at 8 minutes, which is good, they are thick and puffy and stay that way and white. BUT, let them sit on a sheet before trnsferring, some of my daisy petals broke and so did the butterfly wings. So wait, they are very very soft. when dipping in icing, I also lost a few that that broke. They are bland alone, some sugar on top or iced make them wonderful a 5 star for sure. But a little bland with nothing on them. Which they are not meant to be. If you arent up to icing, course sugar on top or sugar cystals will do the trick. This will be my new recipe, along with Sugar Cookie Icing on this site. I got exactly 75 cookies from it. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These cookies are awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Thank you - just what I was looking for! The cookies held their shape and were thick and yummy. Also added almond extract to the dough. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdfarm1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These tasted awsome. The texture was exactly was I wanted. They remind me of the cookies at the grocery store, which I love. All though I wish I could find a sub for egg yolks. Makes me feel guilty when I eat 20 cookies in one sitting:) I only made one change. I used splenda in place of the sugar. The dough was great and I didnt have to chill or flour my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I scaled the recipe to 18 servings and at that size used two eggs instead of 1 egg and 1 1/2 yolks. I wouldn't really call this a sugar cookie, it reminds me of an Italian cookie recipe I've made before. The dough is rather soft so it can be difficult to transfer the cutouts to the cookie sheet without distorting them. They puff up a bit. They do stay nice and soft and taste good, they are a nice change from sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
My 4 yr old son and I made the dough 2 days ago, then yesterday we rolled, cut out, baked and iced...They are FANTASTIC! If you like cake-like cookies then these will be to your taste. They are moist thick and tasty. Note that in the directions they forget to mention adding the vanilla...I added it with the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!! It is so completely fail proof (which is the best thing ever when you have a 3 and 4 year old helping). They taste great and are thick and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
They were sooo yummy. i might use them in my cooking class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Yummmy! I didnt have any vanilla extract so I used half a vanilla bean and 1 tsp almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States