Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
The perfect cookie for cut outs. I have long searched for a sugar cookie recipe that was easy to roll out, easy to cut and one that held its shape in the oven that was not brittle or crispy when baked. These cookies rolled out like a dream, held their shape and they are nice and soft. Perfect with just a little sprinkling of sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made a batch to bake Christmas cut out cookies for my coworkers and they all loved it! I love these too! These are just what I've always been looking for in a cut out sugar cookie - easy to work with, doesn't spread a ton while baking, thick, sturdy yet still soft inside! In my oven it took exactly 10 minutes to bake perfectly so I'd suggest watching your cookies closely for doneness. And I used 1 T of vanilla extract and 1 t of almond extract instead of the 1.5 t vanilla extract because I want extra flavor. I added the extra 1/4 C of sugar as suggested but I won't do that going forward since I iced my cookies and found it to be a little too sweet (and I like sweet). I didn't use the icing recipe from this recipe (I used a different one that calls for confectioners' sugar, milk/water, corn syrup, and flavoring extract) and this was perfection! I will be using this as my "go to" sugar cookie cut out recipe from now on!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!***Update*** This is the only sugar cookie cut-out recipe with the minor alterations I listed above that I'll ever use or need. Hands down best cut-out sugar cookies for any occasion EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These are so good. The only thing I changed was that I used a standard confectioners sugar icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are THE BEST COOKIES ever!! I did not change a thing. Everytime I make these someone is asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill N Kristen Wiese

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These cookies were PHENOMENAL!! they poofed up into a nice, thick, soft, perfect cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I'm sorry - these cookies were not soft. They tasted like flavorless animal cracker cookies - like hard biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Made these over the weekend. I did follow other reviewer's suggestions and added 1/4 c more sugar, doubled the vanilla and added a tsp of almond extract. Baked for 8 mins. Flavor is good, not to sweet like a normal sugar cookie recipe. I have eaten them plain and with colored sugar. I plan on frosting them and am sure they will still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Awesome, enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Very good, very dense and heavy. Not cake like or fluffy (finally!). Good enough to eat with no frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is a wonderful sugar cookie dough to work with! So easy to roll out and cut and it holds its shape very well when baking so you're cookies come out the same shape they were when you put them in the oven. This does make a rather bland cookie so I add an extra teaspoon of vanilla, a teaspoon or so of almond extract and an extra 1/4 C. of sugar. As much as I love the cookie recipe, there are much better frosting recipes out there so I would recomend skipping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States