Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by SarahBeth0917
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My friends and our five children (aged 3-5) made cutouts from this dough after letting it sit overnight. It was so easy to work with that all the kids could cut out completely on their own. 8 minute bake time was PERFECT, and when it came time to ice, not a single cookie cracked or broke, in the hands of toddlers! Delicious, thick, sturdy, yet moist cookies:) All my friends will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I don't think I can say enough good things about this recipe, to be perfectly honest. I made them for Christmas 2011 and they were amazing. They rolled out and cut super easy and they baked up perfect! The only change I made was I added about 1 tsp Vanilla and 1/2 tsp of Almond extract. Then when I made the icing I used only almond in it. They were so delicious and really easy to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I've been looking for the best cut-out cookie recipe for first birthday cookie favors, and this is it - third time lucky! :) I tried two other recipes (from this site) which got great reviews but were not the best for what I wanted to do. The dough was easy to handle and the cookies kept their shape. I didn't make the frosting, because I wanted to use fondant. The cookies are indeed bland on their own, so I thought I would have to tweak the recipe or try yet another, but after I decorated it with Satin Ice fondant and royal icing, it was perfect! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tayls
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
These were okay. I used them for special decorated cookies so they looked great, but were very dry and hard. I would be greatly disappointed if I had made them just for taste/texture. Very "animal cracker" like. They held up nicely to cutting and decorating, but I'm still on the lookout for a good sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tayls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This cookies were easy to work with and tasted great (no nasty shortening after taste you get with so many other cut out recipes). They stay soft which is an added bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
These were great! I would not add more sugar - I thought they were just right as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Easy to make but didn't have any flavor. Must add almond extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Absolutely perfect! These cookies taste exactly lime the ones from Cookies by Design! I was having a difficult time finding a recipe that held its shape without being dry. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and added 1/4 cup more sugar as well as almond extract (I just poured the stuff in as I LOVE it!) hands down this is the BEST homemade cookie recipe you'll ever need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Smiling Chef
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These are delicious sugar cookies that are perfect for the holidays. I purchased small Christmas cut outs at Sur La Table and made a homeade whipped chocolate ganache from Martha Stewart. I frosted them together with the chocolate and some strawberry jam for variety and they turned out to be sweet Christmas gifts once dusted with powdered sugar. I will definetly be making these next Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Smiling Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
The people who've given this cookie one star must be inexperienced with baking, which is more than just popping things in the oven. You have to know how to mix dough, remember to do wet ingredients first, then dry. If you over-mix anything with flour in it you will have a bad cookie--you want to mix it just enough to incorporate the wet and dry ingredients. I'm so glad I ignored the bad reviews on this one. Anywho, I was looking for a Cheryl & Co. style cookie, and this is IT. I halved the recipe, and ended up with two dozen Cheryl & Co sized cut-out cookies. They are soft and delicious and everyone who tries them thinks they are wonderful! If you are looking for a sugar cookie that tastes like sugar, this is not for you. These are traditional sugar cookie cut-outs, that have just a hint of vanilla/sugar sweetness if you don't add the icing. Great with tea or hot cocoa. The dough was incredibly easy to work with, not messy AT ALL. I had it in the fridge over night prior to rolling it out. I greased the pan with butter spray on parchment paper, and had no issues at all--nine minutes in the oven. I can honestly say it was one of the LEAST sticky doughs I have worked with. If the dough is sticking, pop it back in the fridge until it is chilled, like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States