Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by christy
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
this recipe was awesome. I loved the simplicity. They were soft and the dough was easily managed and rolled out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I didn't add almond extract as some reviewers recommended, and the cookies still turned out fabulous. I am going to make this my staple cut out cookie recipe. As is, this recipe made me 5 dozen varied sized cookies. Delicious! My husband asked what I added to these to make them so addicting and he is not usually a big fan of sweets :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniwithani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Frosted sugar cookies are my families' favorite cookie but i rarely bake them since they're so time consuming. This recipe was worth the effort because the dough was so easy to roll out and they are delicious. I am throwing out all my other sugar cookie recipes because this one is the best by far! I did add 1/4 c more sugar and in addition to the vanilla, I added 3/4 t of almond extract as many other reviewers did. I used my own butter frosting recipe. Look no further, this recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahBeth0917
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My friends and our five children (aged 3-5) made cutouts from this dough after letting it sit overnight. It was so easy to work with that all the kids could cut out completely on their own. 8 minute bake time was PERFECT, and when it came time to ice, not a single cookie cracked or broke, in the hands of toddlers! Delicious, thick, sturdy, yet moist cookies:) All my friends will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I don't think I can say enough good things about this recipe, to be perfectly honest. I made them for Christmas 2011 and they were amazing. They rolled out and cut super easy and they baked up perfect! The only change I made was I added about 1 tsp Vanilla and 1/2 tsp of Almond extract. Then when I made the icing I used only almond in it. They were so delicious and really easy to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay N

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I've been looking for the best cut-out cookie recipe for first birthday cookie favors, and this is it - third time lucky! :) I tried two other recipes (from this site) which got great reviews but were not the best for what I wanted to do. The dough was easy to handle and the cookies kept their shape. I didn't make the frosting, because I wanted to use fondant. The cookies are indeed bland on their own, so I thought I would have to tweak the recipe or try yet another, but after I decorated it with Satin Ice fondant and royal icing, it was perfect! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tayls
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
These were okay. I used them for special decorated cookies so they looked great, but were very dry and hard. I would be greatly disappointed if I had made them just for taste/texture. Very "animal cracker" like. They held up nicely to cutting and decorating, but I'm still on the lookout for a good sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tayls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This cookies were easy to work with and tasted great (no nasty shortening after taste you get with so many other cut out recipes). They stay soft which is an added bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
These were great! I would not add more sugar - I thought they were just right as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Easy to make but didn't have any flavor. Must add almond extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States