Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made this recipe last year for our Super Bowl Party and they were a hit!!! I never make cut out cookies because I always have a problem with rolling out the dough. This recipe was SUPER EASY! I had NO problem rolling the dough out and the cookies were soft & chewy!! This time I rolled the dough into cookie sheets and cut them into bars. Easy, only cook about 12 minutes or they will be dryer. I then glazed them. They are still a hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Best Sugar Cookie Ever. The recipe is perfect. It's so easy to use cutouts. Instead of frosting we added colored sugar to the cookies before baking and it was just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I was skeptical, and the recipe isn't extremely clear. When it says add the eggs one at a time, I did the whole eggs, then the egg yolks. It also did not specify when to add the 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract into the cookie mixture. Although I did not use this frosting recipe (I used Wilton's poured fondant recipe) this one says 1/2 tsp vanilla, and in the directions says add 1 tsp. Regardless, these were delicious, and tasted like the Cookies by Design cookies. I did not adjust the flour or anything else. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I have tried MANY sugar cookie recipes and this is by far the best I have found! I did double the vanilla, as others suggested. I also let the dough chill for about 3 hours, as I was baking other things. The cookies are soft and flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
For as long as I remember, my family has used the Betty Crocker Cookbook recipe for sugar cookies, and they have always come out poofy and dry. I always thought that is what sugar cookies tasted like. Then, my sis and I wanted to do something different this year. We found this recipe, and are so glad we did. Firm but also soft, they are delicious without the frosting. Glad that we found a recipe to become our new tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
These were excellent! I cut the recipe in half, added more vanilla and added a bit of almond extract. I did not use the frosting recipe. I only chilled the dough for an hour. The dough was a dream to roll out! They baked beautifully and are soft but crumbly. I am so happy that I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by christy
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
this recipe was awesome. I loved the simplicity. They were soft and the dough was easily managed and rolled out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I didn't add almond extract as some reviewers recommended, and the cookies still turned out fabulous. I am going to make this my staple cut out cookie recipe. As is, this recipe made me 5 dozen varied sized cookies. Delicious! My husband asked what I added to these to make them so addicting and he is not usually a big fan of sweets :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniwithani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Frosted sugar cookies are my families' favorite cookie but i rarely bake them since they're so time consuming. This recipe was worth the effort because the dough was so easy to roll out and they are delicious. I am throwing out all my other sugar cookie recipes because this one is the best by far! I did add 1/4 c more sugar and in addition to the vanilla, I added 3/4 t of almond extract as many other reviewers did. I used my own butter frosting recipe. Look no further, this recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States