Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Great recipe. I added extra vanilla (our family loves the flavor) and no almond; however, I'll try the almond next time. They turned out great even though I added an extra egg because I lost count while on the phone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Scott, Kansas, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Thank you to whoever submitted this recipe. I used this for my first attempt at making cut-outs and they turned out fantastic! I would definitely use almond extract next time I make them to give them a little more flavor, but the consistency was perfect. As long as you roll them out on a floured surface, they'll be perfect! I had to add a lot more hot water than suggested for the icing...but it turned out great as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
My search for a great rolled sugar cookie recipe is over. I like the icing ingredients too as vegetable oil seems somewhat healthier than using the typical shortening. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.j.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kihei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Perfect thick sugar cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This the only sugar cookie recipe I will use now. Perfect and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golden Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
These are my favorite sugar cookies. I have not decided on my favorite icing or frosting for them yet. I have tried the modifications mentioned in the other reviews and love them. These are nice big soft cookies and everyone I bake them for love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
My cookies must have been mondo because I only got 30 from this recipe. I rolled them 1/2 inch thick and used a 3 1/2 inch heart cookie cutter. I used 2 tsp. mexican vanilla and 2 tsp. almond extract. I needed to cook them about 11 minutes or they were still doughy inside. They also spread a bit more than I thought they would so leave room between them when baking. They tasted GREAT! Not too sweet and with icing they were perfect. No sugar coma here. The dough was wonderful to work with. I used a floured pastry cloth to roll it out on and a rolling pin cover. I didn't have any problem with it sticking. I usually don't make roll out cookies because I haven't found a good dough that doesn't stick. This was the exception. I'll make these again. Hubby and kids loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
AWESOME recipe!! Perfect cookies. I think I threw in a bit much almond extract but that was ok by me. I LOVED it. I read reviews saying these were very bland but mine were NOT!! LOVED these cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
These are simply The Best!!! I read through the other reviews before making these and decided to add about 1/4 cup extra sugar, doubled the vanilla and added 3/4 tsp of almond extract, as another reviewer suggested. They turned out wonderful!!! We will be baking these for years to come on many holidays. Be careful not to overbake. Nothing over 10 minutes and 9 seemed more appropriate most of the time. Enjoy! And thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I'm going to give this five stars (really 4 1/2) although I did tweak the recipe just a bit. I noted the directions didn't tell you when to add the vanilla, but I added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. almond extract to the wet ingredients before mixing in the dry..I'm sure most of you know to do this, but I thought that might mislead a unexperienced baker. These are perfectly soft and cut-out extremely well. They hold their shape nicely. Next time I think I may try all almond or all lemon extract. I frosted these with standard homemade buttercream frostings - one made w/ lemon and the other rum. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carterville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States