Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was easy to do and it came out great. I didn't modify it at all. The dough was easy to handle and rolled out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Taste is excellent but I had a hard time getting my shapes to come out right because the cookies fluffed so much. The stars came out perfect but more intricate shapes did not. All in all a great recipe. Will try again. Maybe I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
With the addition of 2 tsp. vanilla & 1 1/2 tsp. almond extracts to this dough, I will never use another sugar cookie recipe. These bake perfectly without spreading (I bake on a parchment lined pan) and taste amazing when decorated with royal icing. It's difficult to convince people you made, not bought them! My husband is by no means a cookie guy, and he can't keep his hands off these. Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
The best! For cut-out cookies, this will now be my one and only recipe. These held their shape well and tasted great. The only change I made was I substituted the vanilla for almond...just personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was a great recipe - I halved the recipe (so I wouldn't have to use so many eggs), and I still was able to get a good amount out of 1 batch. I added almond extract (2 tsp.), and that really added to this. Bake for only 8 minutes - 9 min. caused some of the edges to burn. I iced them w/ 'Sugar Cookie Icing' from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Perfect Sugar Cookie!!! Usually I am not a big fan of sugar cookies, but these are terrific! I made them for my son's preschool class teachers and they loved them. I frosted mine with buttercream frosting and they turned out adorable. We are going to be making a batch today so we can leave some for Santa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
To many eggs for a very average recipe. I found the dough difficult to work with. I'm still on my quest for an easy to use and flavorable sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Longeway Hogan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This dough is so easy to work with and didn't spread while baking. I only got 3 dozen from this. While this is a decent cookie and turned out beautiful and okay tasting, I'm just not sure it is worth the 10 eggs to make only 3 dozen cookies. I used margarine instead of butter. The icing was not very good though. It was lacking flavor and tasted oily. It was really easy to work with though and dried slowly so you didn't have to rush to get candies to stick. After they were iced, the oil weeped from the icing and made little beads on top of the cookies. I'll admit I'm rather inexperienced with cut outs and frosted cookies, but I don't think this was my bad, I think it's the recipe. I've always used butter, crisco, or margarine, all I know is the oil didn't work well at all, heck maybe it's just me since no one has mentioned it? Thanks, I had great fum trying out these cookies and many happy goodie/gift recipients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These cookies were soft and thick with just the right amount of flavor. I followed the directions exactly as written. They are definitely meant to be frosted. I had to add a lot more water to the frosting than called for, but it still turned out good. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Wow! Incredibly soft and foolproof! Last year was my first time making sugar cutouts and I had a really hard time with the recipe I used. This recipe is sooo much better, great instructions, easy to mix, roll out, cut out, and great without any frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States