Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Perfect Sugar Cookie!!! Usually I am not a big fan of sugar cookies, but these are terrific! I made them for my son's preschool class teachers and they loved them. I frosted mine with buttercream frosting and they turned out adorable. We are going to be making a batch today so we can leave some for Santa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
To many eggs for a very average recipe. I found the dough difficult to work with. I'm still on my quest for an easy to use and flavorable sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This dough is so easy to work with and didn't spread while baking. I only got 3 dozen from this. While this is a decent cookie and turned out beautiful and okay tasting, I'm just not sure it is worth the 10 eggs to make only 3 dozen cookies. I used margarine instead of butter. The icing was not very good though. It was lacking flavor and tasted oily. It was really easy to work with though and dried slowly so you didn't have to rush to get candies to stick. After they were iced, the oil weeped from the icing and made little beads on top of the cookies. I'll admit I'm rather inexperienced with cut outs and frosted cookies, but I don't think this was my bad, I think it's the recipe. I've always used butter, crisco, or margarine, all I know is the oil didn't work well at all, heck maybe it's just me since no one has mentioned it? Thanks, I had great fum trying out these cookies and many happy goodie/gift recipients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These cookies were soft and thick with just the right amount of flavor. I followed the directions exactly as written. They are definitely meant to be frosted. I had to add a lot more water to the frosting than called for, but it still turned out good. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Wow! Incredibly soft and foolproof! Last year was my first time making sugar cutouts and I had a really hard time with the recipe I used. This recipe is sooo much better, great instructions, easy to mix, roll out, cut out, and great without any frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I LOVE the sugar cookies this made, but more than that this is a very flexible recipe. I used this recipe as a base and filled with coconut/walnuts/cream cheese and powdered sugar to make mountain cookies. Then I rolled in small balls and indented the top to use this dough as a thumbprint cookie base and added some peach jam before baking! WOW! One recipe and I have three Christmas cookies for my party tomorrow night! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liana
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Easy recipe! Yummy cookies. They stayed fresh and soft for a while. I did add 3/4 tsp of almond extract as others suggested. We made it together with my 4 y.o daughter it was lots of fun. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
A really great christmas cookie! Soft and cakelike. Will be making this every year. Glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Really very good, but still not the cut-out cookie I'm looking for. I found out as the process went on that rolling the dough thicker, makes for a softer and better cookie. I cooked them 8 minutes as many reviews recommended. I also added almond extract to the mixture prior to adding the flour. For icing I made a family favorite of butter Crisco shortening, confectioners sugar, vanilla and almond extract. I think I will make these again and "tweak" them a bit to see if I can get them just a little softer. If I can, then these will be the perfect cut out cookies in my opinion. By the way, the dough is really easy to work with! I really appreciated that. I'm sure my family and friends will enjoy these cookies over the holiday. Merry Christmas and thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Good flavor and beautiful cookies. To answer the question of some previous "reviewers," YES you do add both the 6 egg yolks and the 4 eggs (which means you will use a total of 10 eggs for this recipe and have to figure out what to do with 6 egg whites - omelets anyone?). I rolled them out to between 1/4 and 1/2 an inch. Then make sure that your oven is right and cook them 8 minutes, no more. 2 minutes on the cookie sheet finishes off the cooking and they don't get brown edges. They are puffy and sweet. I added 1 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp almond, but if you don't like almond, these would probably be okay with just the vanilla. They work really well with frosting. I made lots of Christmas trees and candy cane shapes. We had almost as much fun eating them as we had decorating them as a family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blanding, Utah, USA
Living In: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States