Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
A great cut-out sugar cookie!! I doubled the vanilla, but that was the only change. When I baked these, I did bake them on parchment paper. They spread out a little bit, but kept their shape very well. The cookies are soft, but still sturdy enough for frosting and decoration. I have searched long & hard for the perfect sugar cookie recipe, and this is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ziprose
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
The cookies are fantastic. Taste great and nice and stable for decorating. The frosting however didn't really do it for me. It was too clear for my taste and has an oily sheen that really isn't all that appealing. Next time I go with royal icing. addendum- I sent these cookies, decorated with the frosting included in the recipe, around the country. I spent a couple hours baking and decorating them only to find out, when sent pictures by the recipients of the gifts they received, that the white frosting dried clear and the colored frosting simply sunk into the red background so all of my decorating was wasted. I will never use this frosting again and suggest that you don't either if you will be doing anything other than just glazing a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziprose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
love this cut out cookie! I add almond extract and it makes a huge difference. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Thompson Howell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I love this cookie recipe! It is so yummy and not too sweet! You'll definitely want to refrigerate the dough. I refrigerated mine overnight and it was perfect! Remember to refrigerate any scraps you want to re-roll and cut out. Once the dough warms up it's difficult to work with. I didn't use the frosting listed on this recipe. Instead I used the 'sugar cookie icing' recipe listed on the site. I made these for Christmas and got multiple requests for more. I'll be making them for Valentine's Day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This cookie is so mild. I use frosting that consists of 1 stick of real butter, 1 box of powdered sugar, 1 tsp. flavoring like lemon, vanilla or maple and then you add a little milk to get it to a nice spreadable consistancy. You can color it any desired color. I only bake the cookies for 7 minutes on parchment paper and they come out perfect every time! I have also just sprinkled them with colored sugar before baking and that turns out really nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christa Mac
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Followed the directions exactly - it they came out awesome - very professional looking icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I have been on a quest for the perfect sugar cookie recipe for quite a while now. My search has ended - this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is a very tasty sugar cookie recipe. They roll out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
The cookies weren't exactly what I was looking for, they were good but not fantastic, and I am wanting the most fantastic of all sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
The ultimate sugar cookie. I have been looking for this type of sugar cookie recipe for years. Thank you so much for posting this. Everyone enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMB146

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States