Thera's Canadian Fried Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
These were fun to put together. They made a nice Sunday afternoon date for me and the hubster. He wanted donuts, but when we came across this recipe, well the name is kind of catch-ie! The first couple came out looking like mutant eggs! So we kind of rolled them more oval and flattened them a little, since the hubster insisted they should look like beaver tails... We did the sugar and cinnamon, yum! But then we noticed the cook's note on the bottom and went savory and experimented. Also nice for a change in flavor. I'd love to try it with the maple spread, but alas. Hell even maple syrup here in France is pretty pricey and kind of a hunt to find. So we went with homemade jams, like apricot, strawberry and blackberries. The hubster went for the Nutella. We used a blue cheese/creme fraiche dip. That is some mighty fine chomping! Thanks for the recipe share! Tasty and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lysis
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
These are delicious, and were enjoyed by everyone. Next time, I would use 2 eggs instead of 3 as I had to add quite a bit more flour. I should note that I used large eggs. I have also made them using 4 cups of white flour and 1 cup of whole wheat. Some family members preferred them that way - just a matter of taste. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
We made these on New Years Day - my girls LOVED them. I was looking for a less 'pizza' dough and this hit the mark! Mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
O.M.G. - I am from Albany, NY, and every year we would go to the Capital for the 4th of July e fireworks and would *always* get fried dough. Now that I live in Utah, you absolutely cannot get this *anywhere*. No one has ever heard of it. I found this recipe and tried today (July 4th) for the first time. My husband and kids were AMAZED. We all ate at least 4 pieces, covered in cinnamon and sugar and we all agreed it was BETTER than what you get from the 4th of July vendors. My one change was this: we shaped the dough as the recipe said and found it was too thick to cook properly, so we shaped it into ovals and then smooshed it out with our hands until the pieces looked more like thick tortillas and they cooked up *perfectly*. It has instantly become our new go-to 4th of July tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ampurdy77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Love these pastries! Haven't made your recipe yet but can hardly wait! I'm a fan of the butter and cinnamon topping. Just a quick question. Have you ever frozen the remaining dough and then defrosted and made the "tail" at a later date? I gave you 5 stars as I know this is going to be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Gosh, I used to drive from Montreal to Ottawa just to have these. Now that I live in New Hampshire - I can make them for myself & all my friends that I have bragged to for years about these tasty treats!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Danbury, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I was so happy to find a fried dough/donut recipe with something healthier like wheat flour! Right off think I might try stevia instead of white sugar, and grape seed oil (ideal for deep frying-less money than olive oil, got at Costco) instead of vegetable oil. A winning recipe from Canada-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These are called Beaver Tails! they are fabulous. Try a different topping; jam, caramel, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
WOW! Better than those in Ottawa at the Farmer's Market. Now We can have them anytime we want. So deliscious and addictive. The kids wanted a sweet treat so we decided to whip these up for desert. They gobbled them up .Making them again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
They were really really good! I loved them! You can also put one chocolate spread on it, with some sprinkles of icing sugar on top like the shop! xD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

How to Knead Dough

Watch how to knead dough by hand with these simple step-by-step instructions.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States