The World's Greatest Crab Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
If you like crab you MUST try this!! I can't stop raving about this recipe!!! so simple and quick! I'll never go back to traditional steamed or boiled crab legs. My only recommendation is to put a layer of foil under the crab while on the grill. The butter sauce melts and drips off causing flames that char the crab shells. They still taste great but the black getsall over as you eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This is a great technique, imparts a nice smoky flavor. NOTE: high heat for 6 min left our first batch a bit overcooked (shells are very flexible, meat is difficult to get out in one piece). You may want to do a couple of test legs to make sure you get your heat and time exactly right for your grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
We did these from frozen but wrapped in foil and they still came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Just made this recipe on snow crab and king crab and it was the best crab I've ever had!! As a Northwest resident I would have loved to have tried it on fresh Dungeness but alas we were unable to go crabbing this season. I cooked it about four minutes on each side and it was flavorful, tender and perfectly cooked! I loved it. Next time, I'm going to try in in the oven as the BBQ does tend to flame up a lot and the pieces I loved best were the ones that didn't get "flame" broiled. Regardless, I will definitely cook my crab this way most every time (still will enjoy fresh steamed crab as frequently as possible)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Followed the instructions and incorporated other users' suggestions and cracked the shells a little before grilling, added old bay seasoning, and lowered the heat a little (more like med/med-high). These were awesome! My husband wasn't convinced that the oil/butter/garlic was really going to get through the shell to the meat, but it sure did and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Alright, so we had snow crab clusters and this is what we decided to make, though we didn't have a suitable dish to place them on to place in the oven. We use a roast ban that we filled with a 1/4 cup of water, 1/4 cup of butter, 1/8 cup of olive oil, garlic powder, basil, and oregano. We truly didn't know how they would come out. We cooked them with foil on top of the pan at 350 degrees and 15 minutes on each side. They smelled delicious and the taste sure followed. I love this recipe!!! The only thing I would do differently next time is add more water, the water level didn't get to all the legs and left the meat just slightly on the cold side. Other then that, me and my boyfriend had the most wonderful crab legs we have ever eaten, and we love seafood restaurants! Guess we get to save some money now by cooking them our selves!!! This is a must do for snow crab legs! 10/10!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The name says it all! So simple to prep, and five or six minutes of scorching these babies and you've got crabs that will knock the legs right off the local crab shacks. I will never use another recipe again! 10 out of five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
The only thing I loved about this recipe was the smokey flavor. The baste did not infuse into the crabmeat as I had hoped and cooking for six minutes the normally succulant crab meat was dried out. Very disappointed that $60 worth of crabmeat was ruined. Try this recipe at your own risk! We will definately be going back to our delicious steamed crab in a couple months when we can afford it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I feel like I MUST have done something wrong. I cut the crab in half, boiled it, applied the buttery batter, but it didn't seem like much of the butter flavor was absorbed in the crab. Not sure what I did wrong as I followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. It smelled like it was going to be more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I loved this!! I added my own twist to it, but in general kept it somewhat the same. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany
Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States