The World's Best Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
To make a moist Turkey place the butter under the breast skin, cover with bacon rashers and put either apples or onions in the cavity. This is a waste of champagne I think? Yes folks you DO need to slit the bags so the air can escape otherwise it'll blow up and go bang in the oven and if you use gas it will blow the flames out and gas the occupants of the house or even worse blow it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gnome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this turkeylast year and my son said "who needs a cooking show to get ideas when mom can make a turkey that tastes like this!" Guess what we are having tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have cooked this turkey for the last 5 years! Have always cut up onion and added with apple. We also usually do a 20lb turkey so double the recipe. Be generous with the garlic powder and use whole bottle of champagne for bigger turkey. And yes, cut a few slits in the bag. 2 or 3 are enough. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I am considering using this recipe. Can you taste the champagne?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
The instructions on the bag say to cut half a dozen slits in the bag. Also shake a small amount of flour in the bag to help stop the turkey from sticking. I have used the bag many times with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Have been cooking turkey this way for years, just use different seasonings, only time I have had a bad one is once I forgot to switch from broil to bake, needless to say the turkey was a little crispy. Besides the apples inside I quarter an onion and another apple and just throw in the bag around the outside of the turkey. I am going to try adding the champagne this time, it sounds like a great addition but you can't go wrong fixing a turkey this way. Don't forget to flour the bag and even with the champagne I would cut the slits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobnev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
We found this turkey bland and a huge disappointment. I did use inexpensive champagne so perhaps it was my fault but I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have used this method for years -- juiciest turkey ANYONE has ever tasted. I put an orange, an apple and a short stalk of celery in the cavity. Also I use BROWN PAPER BAG to roast the turkey. I spray PAM on the inside and outside of the bag...If turkey is too big to fold bag closed, use another BAG to face into the first one. I also use a rack to keep the turkey from laying in the juices. When the bag is opened....the skin is the perfect color and exactly as the photo looks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
You can cut a few holes in the cooking bag without worrying about your turkey drying out. Do not forget to use the flour as directed before placing bird in bag
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I made this last year after cruising the net for a great recipe and it was indeed one of the best turkeys I have ever had. We put a little twist on it...as all good cooks should, which was to pack the cavity with bacon as well as the apples and also layed strips of bacon on top of the breast to kick in a bit more flavor and keep it super moist. Trust me on this, it was a great way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States