The World's Best Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Great recipe! To those who ask about cutting the slits in the bag and the flour in the bag; though I did this with this recipe because I always do when using the turkey bags or oven cooking bags, my husband never does this (he does not believe in reading the directions)! Anyway, it has always been alright without. Unlike the person who said it would cause the bag to blow up and the gas to be blown out in your oven, this has NEVER happened in the very many times he has done this (and I do have a gas oven)! The only way that would happen is if you could somehow seal the bag air-tight, and the ties for these bags will not do that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Really hard to get the butter under the skin. Too much champagne, but it was really juicy an good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Princeville, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Had a 15 lb turkey, cooked according to directions on turkey. Used ginger ale instead of champagne, I cut some slits in the bag, and it turned out wonderful, everyone loved how moist it was. Be careful not to tear the skin when you're putting in the butter pats, I did and that very small part that was exposed turned out to be dry. Everyone loved the stuffing and couldn't get enough, and the gravy that was made was great too. Def. going to use the recipe again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I have to agree with the name... I tried this this year and was it ever a hit. The champagne DID make it sooo moist. I put 1/4 apple in each cavity, then stuffed with the cranberry/apple stuffing you will find on this website (minus the sausage-I think it competes with the turkey) another hit! The champagne addition made the best gravy we have EVER had for Thanksgiving. It was so rich, and the champagne gave it a gourmet taste. This has just become our Thanksgiving staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This really is the world's best turkey recipe! We used this recipe this year - we followed all the steps except we grilled it. (We love grilling our Thanksgiving Turkey) And it was truly delicious ~ everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This turkey turned out extremely well. I did a few things differently however. I added some poultry spice, garlic powder, and parsley to the butter that I put under and on the skin. I added red onions to the apples, (as suggested by a few others), I brined the turkey for about 12 hours, and I took it out of the bag for the last hour or so to get a better browning of the skin. The gravy I made from the drippings had a little kick to it, (from the champagne I think) but was the best gravy I've ever made for a turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Didn't care for this. The turkey had a "boiled" flavor - not roasted. It was very moist but not flavorful. I did not taste the champagne. I even added a lot of herbs and spices which seemed to be boiled away. Definitely NOT the World's Best Turkey in my opinion. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was the best turkey I have made in years, and the simplest. What normaly takes me a couple of hours between making the stuffing and then stuffing the bird was cut down to 30 min. Left me with plenty of time to spend with family and not locked in the kitchen for the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Cooking time too long and temp too high...my bird was 12 pounds and i should have taken it out an hour sooner...dry dry dry...good gravy though. Will brine next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This recipe was ok. I had an 11.8 lb turkey and I only needed to cook it for about 2 hours. I even turned down the oven to 325. I ended up leaving it in for a bout 2.5 hours, so I think it over cooked a bit, which may have been why mine wasn't as juicy as others mentioned. Overall it was good, and the champagne and drippings made a good gravy, but I couldn't give this one 5 stars because the flavor was about average and the cooking time was too high and long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States