The World's Best Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
E X C E L L E N T!!! First time baking a Turkey and it came out PERFECT! The whole entire thing was gone. No leftovers! Minor adjustments: Like a few others here, I used white wine instead of champagne. I also used aluminum foil instead of using a roasting bag. I tented it loosely for the first 1 1/2 hours and untented it for the next hour. After an hour I flipped the Turkey over, loosely tented it again for 30 minutes and untented for another 30 minutes. I also basted every 30 minutes. Breast side down first! Let it stand for 20 minutes before carving ;) Yum!!! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I have never cooked a Turkey in my life and I and not the cook that the rest of my family is but everyone was blown away at how moist this turkey was even after being in the fridge overnight. Thanks for making my first ever Thanksgiving meal a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I've never attempted a turkey before, but this was super-easy and delicious! It was so tender, that when I went to carve it the meat just fell right off the bone. Simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made this for thanksgiving this year and it was Amazing! yes add the slits the bag or it'll burst on its own. This was my first turkey and I highly recommend it. Couldn't be easier or tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The best turkey yet. Moise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Pretty darn good. I would leave out the butter next time, as it made some of the meat really "greasy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Sorry to rate this when I haven't even tried it yet, but how can someone give it a bad review, when they didn't follow the recipe? The whole point of this recipe is to add champagne, this should add to the flavor, as it is acidic and will carry the flavors into the turkey. Don't give it a bad review after you chose to remove the main ingredient (besides the turkey, lol). I am planning on making this for Christmas and will update my review after I try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Made this for Thanksgiving. Only changes I made was using Sparkling Apple Cider and put yellow onion and bell pepper in the cavity instead of apples. It was incredible. My mom-in-law said in 60 years she had never seen turkey fall off the bone. It was very moist and tasty. This will be our turkey recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This recipe wasn't as amazing as I was expecting it to be. For personal preference, I didn't use the champagne, but followed everything more or less. I added a few more spices inside and outside the bird, and added some onion and carrot to the apples inside and outside (used cider instead of champagne). Given, the turkey was just as moist as all of the other reviewers said it would be, but the flavor wasn't remarkable. It wasn't bad, just not "the world's best." Sorry to give a low rating--it wasn't a bad recipe (in fact, I'll probably be using the oven bags more often now), but it just seemed like effort for nothing out of the ordinary--with no apple flavor, at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I have never roasted a turkey in my life, and when I saw this recipe, I felt the courage to do so... I'm glad I did because my family raved all about it! I used sparkling cider like the other reviewers did, and added quartered onion to the quartered apples for stuffing. I gave it 4 instead of 5 because the bag started to stick on the skin after 3 hours. Was it suppose to be at 350degrees? I opened the bag up, thinking that if I didn't do it, we would end up with a plastic/skinned turkey! I also rubbed sage, marjoram, salt and pepper all over the turkey. Delish! Thank you for this great recipe! I will make it again next year - this time, with real champagne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States