The World's Best Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I hosted my first Thanksgiving this year and it was an absolute success! My dad is still talking about how moist the turkey was! As some other users have posted, I was concerned whether or not to cut holes in the baking bag. I cut holes to remain onthe safe side and everything worked out well. The bag did stick to the skin of the turkey a little bit but was easily pulled off. I reccomend this recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this recipe for thanksgiving this year and my husband took one bite and said it was the best turkey he's ever had in his life! It was so moist and juicy, it just fell off the bone. Thanks for the great recipe! I will definitely be using this again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was my first time making the turkey for Thanksgiving, and my entire family was impressed. I did follow the directions on the ovenbag box to add flour to the bag before placing the turkey and also cutting a few slits on the top before baking. I used the entire bottle of champagne, at the time I thought it was too much, but it was just right - had plenty of drippings to make the gravy. I did add a bouillon cube to the gravy to counter some of the sweetness from the champagne. Also following some suggestions from other reviews I added a cut up red onion to the inside and an extra apple (mine was a 20lb turkey). After about 2 hours in the oven I cut up the top of the bag so the skin would get nice and crispy. It took about 3 hours to cook and after letting it rest for about 30 minutes the meat was falling off the bones. I'll definitely be making this again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JsBride

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was the best turkey my family has ever had! I added pears as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
My husband and I do not drink so when I saw "champagne", I was a little hesitant to try this recipe. This was only my second time to ever prepare a Thanksgiving turkey on my own. I couldn't be more happy that I tried this recipe. Since I only have two of us to cook for, I had to alter the recipe just a teeny. We used a 7lb bone-in turkey breast, and a whole onion (I didn't have any apples)-other than that I followed the recipe to the letter. This is by far the way to go when preparing a turkey. You just put everything in the roasting bag, put it all in the oven, and walk away. The turkey was falling off the bone and was the juiciest turkey breast we have ever had. Don't worry if you are not a champagne aficionado. The meat does not retain any of the true champagne flavor and the drippings make a fantastic gravy! The gravy is hearty and full of flavor and has an added tang that is unexpectedly good. I will no longer go to the trouble of preparing turkey in the traditional manner. This recipe is an absolute keeper! Thank you for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I cooked for 12 people for an early Thanksgiving. I used this recipe but had a 20 lb. turkey. I doubled the apples but the rest was the same. I let it sit on the warm stove top in the bag for at least an hour to reabsorb juices. This turned out excellent and so juicy. My brother-in-law, an avid chef took home the recipe to make for Thanksgiving day. Everyone loved this!! I will always make my turkey this way. Just make sure you give your turkey time to rest in the bag before cutting. Also, turkey baked in cooking bags tends to cook much faster. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I used this recipe the first time I ever cooked a turkey. It is unbelievably juicy and I now use it every year. I also inject my turkey with garlic infused olive oil and this also does WONDERS, but the champagne just gives it a rich flavor. For those of you who have asked, DO NOT CUT THE BAG!!!!!!! I do open the bag about every 45 minutes and baste the turkey (and to avoid the top from sticking to the bag). I also open it to use the turkey juices to make my stuffing and gravy. I also will brown/roast the top by opening the bag/uncovering the top of the turkey when it's almost done. If that doesn't work, then cut it open so you expose the breasts (that sounds so wrong, lol!) to get a perfectly browned turkey, but only do that at the very end, towards the last 15 minutes. Anyway, this is an awesome recipe - please try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is the best turkey I have ever made (I've made it about 10 times). It has turned out moist and delicious every time and each time I'm invited to a family gathering I'm asked to provide the turkey (that's the only drawback I've seen to this recipe)! I've only seen a few people have problems and here is how to avoid them. First check the temperature of your oven with a thermometer before putting the turkey in - just because the dial says a certain temp doesn't mean your oven agrees. Also make sure you brine your turkey the day before (look for recipes here to do so - it makes a big difference). You also need to make sure the butter is properly distributed in pats under the skin. Always make sure you adjust the amount of the ingredients for the size of the turkey! Some people prefer to add a little less champagne so the gravy isn't affected as much. Lastly I would imagine that some of the people having trouble with dryness might have used a frozen turkey and didn't allow ample time to thaw and they probably didn't brine it which is the secret to increible, moist, turkey. Another tip for Thanksgiving - try making a Pumpkin Marble Cheesecake - easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Hands down this is the best and easiest turkey recipe ever!!! it was crispy on the outside and moist inside. My family and friends love it!! I have made this 3 years in a row. It puts other turkeys to shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This recipe makes a fantastic turkey! I happen to work for a restaurant company and was blessed enough to have one of our chefs help me through the turkey baking process. We baked a pre-bird to test the recipe (this was my first time cooking turkey). We followed the recipe making only a few modifications as suggested by some of the reviewers (white wine instead of champagne, adding a red onion, etc.). Not only was it easy, it was absolutely delicious! I've never had a juicier bird. I will be making this for Thanksgiving this year and look forward to showing my family what a turkey SHOULD taste like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States