The World's Best Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was really great! Turned out so good There were no left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honea Path, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Great unique recipe. I also added onion and celery to the "oven bag". The turkey was very good, and the broth was fantastic! I saved the juice, skimmed off all of the fat, and strained out the apples/onion/celery and made a fantastic pot of turkey noodle soup, using a home made egg noodle recipe from this site. I will be using this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tualatin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Fantastic! I have made this recipie several times, and referred it to everyone I know. I will never cook a turkey any other way! To answer the question about cutting slits in the baking bag: I cut slits in my bag every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleCarpenter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. My only comment is that to watch out if you're using a bigger turkey, as you'll need more champagne. The first time I made this recipe I neglected to adjust; guess I was looking forward to having the rest of the bottle for myself! Remembering to adjust amount needed made a HUGE difference in the moisture. Phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zwingle, Iowa, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I have made this turkey 2 years in a row and I LOVE it!! My family requested this turkey in advance and they were not disappointed. The only thing I change is that I add the entire bottle of champagne for added moisture. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This turkey was the most moist turkey I have ever had. This recipe is definitely a keeper. I did cut slits in my bag per the instructions on the oven bag. I also added some onions to go alongside the apples stuffed inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
followed recipe for our 13 lb Xmas dinner bird.. a hint of boiled chicken more than Turkey was the outcome. will stick to the roasted method [ no bag] next time and save the Champagne for consumption with the bird .. It cooked much faster than recipe indicated 2hrs so as suggested in other reviews 275degrees would be a better choice perhaps . Gravy was Ok but no one raved about it .. Will not repeat this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
For my first Turkey ever I used this recipe & tweaked it just a bit and all I can say is WOW!! I have never had such a flavorful or moist turkey. I stuffed the turkey with apples, onions, tangerines & carrots with a ton of cinnamon both in the cavity and under the skin. Per a suggestion I saw on another recipe I covered the turkey in slices of bacon to help seal in the moisture & season the drippings. I cooked my 12 lb turkey in a bag & put slits in it as per the directions & it was done in exactly 4 hours. While moving the leg to the side to get a good temp reading with my thermometer the bone literally came off in my hand! The turkey was so tender & the drippings made a fabulous gravy by adding sour cream and flour. My family raved throughout dinner about how the turkey turned out. Who knew champagne would do the trick?! I'd highly recommend trying this recipe & can't wait for Xmas dinner at my place again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was NOT the best turkey I've ever had nor did it come out moist. I will stick with my regular method. The turkey had no flavor of the items inside. I usually cook mine in a bag with fresh herbs under the skin. I will do that next year. Thankfully, the stuffing was the best I've ever made! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
It was easy to make and really tender. I recommended to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia B

Displaying results 101-110 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States