The World's Best Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
If you follow the bag instructions you should have no problem. Also, I usually oil the skin of the turkey and always have a beautifully browned bird everytime. I never take it out of the bag until it's done. Also, to get all of the juice out... have a strong person hold the bag by the tied end over the baking pan, snip one corner and the juice pours out easily. Then make your gravy either in the roasting pan or transfer to a pot to do it. I have used cooking bags for turkeys for years without one mishap. I always stuff mine using half purchased herbed cubes and my own cube dry bread, fresh sage and cubed apples, chopped celery, chicken broth and an egg or two to bind it. If you follow the bag instructions for a stuffed bird the dressing will always be piping hot. I make enough to have extra for a casserole. Also, I have found these great cheese cloth bags at at the dollar store. The stuffing pulls right out. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this a few years ago. It was my first turkey, ever. I was so nervous as I was only 21 and was making it for my fiance and his family. It was such a simple easy recipe and I have never had a better turkey. I had to cook it longer than I estimated, but that was my own calculation problem. I haven't made the Thanksgiving turkey since, but this year I will be making it again for Christmas and I can finally show my side of the family this amazing turkey. The White Meat really is as moist as the Dark meat. It is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I have made many turkeys and this was the moistest turkey ever. You don't really taste the champagne but it leaves a very juicy turkey. I used more apples to fill the cavity and put freh poultry herb sprigs. The apples were also delicious. I used Barefoot Bubbly champagne and would use it again. I also used more apples to fill the cavity of my 19 lb bird and put fresh poultry herb sprigs in the middle. The apples were delicious as well. This is my new Turkey Recipe of choice now. I cooked the stuffing in the crock pot on high one hour and low for 5 hours foe two cub bison boxes. Added apples for more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This will be year four I believe with this recipe, and it's always a hit! My mouth is watering just thinking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle Hubert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Will definitely be trying this and for those who do not like to use any alcohol in there recipes a tip for a substitution of champagne is Ginger Ale or Soda water and Champagne extract...mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trishla

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have not tried this recipe yet but as to the cooking bag; yes, you cut 3 or 4 slits in the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Helens, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I need help!!!! Is it ok to spray bag with nonstick spray instead of sprinkling flour???? I am really excited to try this recipe. Please any last minute tips would be appreciated. one last thing how many poeple have tried this without putting slits in the bag? Did it come out ok?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
To make a moist Turkey place the butter under the breast skin, cover with bacon rashers and put either apples or onions in the cavity. This is a waste of champagne I think? Yes folks you DO need to slit the bags so the air can escape otherwise it'll blow up and go bang in the oven and if you use gas it will blow the flames out and gas the occupants of the house or even worse blow it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gnome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this turkeylast year and my son said "who needs a cooking show to get ideas when mom can make a turkey that tastes like this!" Guess what we are having tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have cooked this turkey for the last 5 years! Have always cut up onion and added with apple. We also usually do a 20lb turkey so double the recipe. Be generous with the garlic powder and use whole bottle of champagne for bigger turkey. And yes, cut a few slits in the bag. 2 or 3 are enough. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States