The World's Best Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Fantastic! I have made this recipie several times, and referred it to everyone I know. I will never cook a turkey any other way! To answer the question about cutting slits in the baking bag: I cut slits in my bag every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleCarpenter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. My only comment is that to watch out if you're using a bigger turkey, as you'll need more champagne. The first time I made this recipe I neglected to adjust; guess I was looking forward to having the rest of the bottle for myself! Remembering to adjust amount needed made a HUGE difference in the moisture. Phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zwingle, Iowa, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I have made this turkey 2 years in a row and I LOVE it!! My family requested this turkey in advance and they were not disappointed. The only thing I change is that I add the entire bottle of champagne for added moisture. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This turkey was the most moist turkey I have ever had. This recipe is definitely a keeper. I did cut slits in my bag per the instructions on the oven bag. I also added some onions to go alongside the apples stuffed inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
followed recipe for our 13 lb Xmas dinner bird.. a hint of boiled chicken more than Turkey was the outcome. will stick to the roasted method [ no bag] next time and save the Champagne for consumption with the bird .. It cooked much faster than recipe indicated 2hrs so as suggested in other reviews 275degrees would be a better choice perhaps . Gravy was Ok but no one raved about it .. Will not repeat this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
For my first Turkey ever I used this recipe & tweaked it just a bit and all I can say is WOW!! I have never had such a flavorful or moist turkey. I stuffed the turkey with apples, onions, tangerines & carrots with a ton of cinnamon both in the cavity and under the skin. Per a suggestion I saw on another recipe I covered the turkey in slices of bacon to help seal in the moisture & season the drippings. I cooked my 12 lb turkey in a bag & put slits in it as per the directions & it was done in exactly 4 hours. While moving the leg to the side to get a good temp reading with my thermometer the bone literally came off in my hand! The turkey was so tender & the drippings made a fabulous gravy by adding sour cream and flour. My family raved throughout dinner about how the turkey turned out. Who knew champagne would do the trick?! I'd highly recommend trying this recipe & can't wait for Xmas dinner at my place again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was NOT the best turkey I've ever had nor did it come out moist. I will stick with my regular method. The turkey had no flavor of the items inside. I usually cook mine in a bag with fresh herbs under the skin. I will do that next year. Thankfully, the stuffing was the best I've ever made! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
It was easy to make and really tender. I recommended to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia B
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
It was just ok, very moist, but not outstanding. I wanted a turkey that would knock your sock off, so I will continue looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I have made this recipe for the last 5 years. I have perfected it over the years. First I brine the turkey for a day before using Apple brine for the turkey the night before also found on this site. I then inject the bird with a whole bottle of Tony Chacheres Creol butter injection. I mixed in 2 tbls chopped garlic with the butter before I put it under the skin. I use one apple and red onion sliced in the cavity. I also put the turkey breast side down for half of the cooking time and then flip in over for 1/4 of the time. The remaining quarter I remove the turkey from the bag to allow the skin to brown. I also leave the turkey in the oven for an hour after its done to cool. I use a Brut champagne and I use the whole bottle for an 18-22 pound turkey. This makes the best juiciest turkey every time. I do not flour the bag or cut slits in it. I only baste the last 30 minutes of cooking. The juices make wonderful gravy and also stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States