The World's Best Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this turkey for new years, and was very excited based on the reviews..but I have to say I was disappointed with the flavor, I found it quite taste less.. a little garlicky but thats it. It did remind me a litle of boiled chicken. It was faily moist, and did fall off the bones, but I think I prefer more herbs. Will not make again, although I did enjoy the extra champagne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Scaled it for a 20lb turkey and it was good. The gravy was outstanding. It did cook quicker in the bag with slits.(only 4 hours and it was already done at meat temp @200.) A little over done but what a great 1st try. Did cook it breast side down too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I have made this turkey for several years. To answer the questions about slits in the bag - I don't. But, I have never seen those instructions on my bags (I use Reynolds brand). Just dust the inside of the bag with flour. My family cannot get enough of the gravy made with these drippings. And the bonus is that I get to have a mimosa on Thanksgiving morning, after the bird goes into the oven (with what's left of the champagne).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOKLMEMBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
First time I tried this, I cooked it wayyy to long. I did a 20lb turkey for 4hrs. The second time I did the correct cooking time and the turkey ended up being so moist and delicious. I got rave reviews for my Christmas Dinner. Will use this recipe for years to come...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
most amazing turkey ive ever made everyone thourghly enjoyed this and had almost none left over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arielrain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kellyville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I gave this recipe a three star rating because I am unsure how it would have turned out if things would have worked out right. I had over a 20 lb turkey and so I thought I would need to double the time (from 3 hours to 6). Well, it was cooked in 3 hours, which was three hours earlier than I had planned. I might try this again for Christmas unless I decide to cook duck instead! :) It sure sounded like it would have been great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit4TheKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Absolutely the best turkey ever. I had reservations about the flavor of the "drippings" for gravy. I added a bit of chicken bullion as I had a 7 pounder and 2/3 bottle champagne was to much liquid for so little drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Everyone commented on how good this was. The only thing is it didn't say what type of champagne to use. I searched the web for some time before I found another recipe similar and it said they used Asti Spumante. So that's what I used and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stanley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I never made a turkey before and it came out perfect! - moist, golden and yummy! Oh, and I did cut slits in the bag as directed on the package. It didn't hurt anything. For all of those people who can't cook (like me) this crazy easy! The hardest part was touching a raw turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Delish! Moist, flavorful turkey -- cooked in the bag to avoid a messy roasting pan. Will forevermore cook my turkeys just like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States