The Whole Jar of Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is the peanut butter cookie recipe for us from now on. It make a dense, chewy, almost peanut butter fudgey cookie that is divine. The only changes I made were for convenience sake: I used a jar of crunchy, all natural peanut butter - the kind you mix yourself, and omitted adding the chopped peanuts, and I always bake on parchment, so I omitted greasing the cookie sheets. The dough keeps well in the fridge for days - haven't tried freezing it yet but I will. I now double the recipe because they go so quickly. Definitely chill for a minimum of two hours. I try to chill the dough overnight for greatest ease in handling. It's hard to keep everyone's hands out of the batter bowl, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Long Crist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Great recipe. I made a couple of changes. I doubled the salt and instead of butter I used 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup applesauce. I also didn't add any nuts. They tasted great and plenty moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Very moist. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Cox

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I would've given this 5 stars for the delicious, most yummy peanuty buttery burst of flavor. No pb cookie has a better, more robust flavor. Unfortunately, these cookies (most of them) were so very soft I could bend them in half & make a sandwich. Plus most very flat. Now I have been baking for years & consider myself an excellent baker. I so much wanted to love these cookies after reading the reviews, and I do love the flavor, but not the texture. The texture ruins it for me--to the point of not wanting to make them again. First I made very small ones(walnut size? Really?? ) and baked 10 min. That batch was rather dry & the bottom was starting to turn dark brown. I normally make all my cookies rather large, so next batch tried making larger at 10min. Those turned flat like pancakes and very soft(bendable). Medium size, hardly pressed with the fork tines at 10 min. looked about the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
These are good cookies, and my kids are gobbling them up, but the texture was a little bit off for me. I used natural peanut butter, and really creamed the butter/peanut butter/sugar, so maybe I over-creamed it. I didn't see any reviews that used natural peanut butter (didn't look extensively), but I will add that natural peanut butter isn't the best option for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Tried these cookies and my son loved them...but I thought they were to greasy for me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trishla

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
FLATESS cookies I've ever made!! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
OK, these are certainly as good as the reviews state. I used a bit less sugar because I always do and I did have trouble that they wanted to stick to my fork while flattening them, so I dipped my fork into powdered sugar and it worked great, leaving no trace on the cookie after baking. We can't stop eating them, they are so addictive. Be sure not to overbake! If they were dry for you.....you very possibly over baked them! I took mine out of the oven b4 I thought they were done and left them on the cookie sheet for a few min. They were perfect!! I will make these over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Photo by lovecakes
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These were rated a 10 by the family. Usually the first cookies to go in the house are the chocolate chip cookies. This time these were the first to disappear! This recipe will be replacing my other peanut butter cookie recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 648) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States