The Way to a Man's Heart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I added 1 clove of garlic w/the veggie mixture & used the whites of 4 green onions, & using the greens when layering. Added the cheese(about 1/2c) right into the sauce & a little Old Bay. Even after that, the sauce did taste like it was missing something. However, once baked w/the fish(used flounder) & crab, it was fantastic! I do think the green onions helped too! Excellent! I do feel that this is more of an accompaniment to main dish, tho. Maybe a small steak? Idk, it just didn't feel like a main dish to me. I served it w/crusty bread, asparagus, & a baked potato. The potato just didn't go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I'll give this five stars because I can see that it would be excellent, however mine was not. The sauce is Awesome! I loved it. But where I live I am unable to get real crab meat or fresh halibut. The frozen halibut was terrible so I tried again with tilapia, failed again. Plus the imitation crab meat just doesn't cut it. It's worth another attempt though because I really like the flavor of the sauce and I can see how good this recipe would be with the right sea food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Thought this was a great starting point, I made quite a few changes. I added bay scallops and tiger shrimp, and garlic. I also use portabella mushrooms instead of button and I used the whole can of milk with just a tab more flour. I had to use imitation crab which was just what was available at the time :( I also subbed grouper instead of halibut. overall I think it was great, I still feel like the first step is missing something, maybe I will add garlic to wine to give the seafood just a little more flavor. I will be making this again, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Excellent Valentine's Day dish that my husband and I loved. The flavor was not what I was expecting, but it was good. Very rich so a little went a long way, but a great dish overall. I made it in a 9x13 pan which worked fine, but wasn't as presentable as ramekins would have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennyJenn
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
this was so amazing!!! so good!!! i already made it once and i'm making it for the inlaws tomorrow and i save my 5 star tested adn approved recipes for company. i am going to try this in a small baking dish next time instead of the ramikans. i also broiled this the last couple of minutes to brown the cheese a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Tasted sauce before pouring over fish and it was too bland for my taste. This is a wonderful base recipe but needed some seasoning adjustments so I am giving 4 stars. With the changes I made it turned out heavenly! Crab can be costly, so I used a can of fancy white crab drained. I also chopped 1/2 lb cooked jumbo shrimp and put them on top of the cooked fish along with the crab. I added 2 cloves minced garlic & used bulbs of green onions in place of yellow onions, sauteing them with the sweet red bell pepper. I added 1 tsp Old Bay seasoning to sauce, along with 1/4 cup grated Parm. I baked in glass 7x11 baking dish. The sauce seemed very thick and when I tried to spoon over the dish it was not covering the fish very well. I added the rest of the can of evaporated milk to the sauce which made it perfect consistency for spooning and covering fish. However, after baking the sauce had thinned out more and it was wonderful to use hot french bread to sop up the extra sauce on our plates. I did slice the green onion tops and sprinkled them over the sauce before baking it. This would be good served over a hot bed of rice, too! It is rich, but not too rich in my opinion. Hubby was not crazy about it like I was, but he is not fond of cream base sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was amazing! I made it for my husband for Valentine's Day and oh my so good! It does have a few steps, so you have to plan accordingly, but is is well worth it. I had to substitute some ingredients, because I didn't want to go to the store, so I used salmon, and had no wine,so I used apple juice diluted with water, and added a few tablespoons of white vinegar to cook the fish. I can't wait to try it with wine next time. When I make this again, I will make and assemble the day before, so it's easy to pop into the oven before dinner. Also, I hate the name, and refuse to serve something to my in-laws named the way to a man's heart...so my suggestion is "Carolyn's Seafood Spectacular"...thanks Carolyn for creating and then sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmetshand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I made this yesterday and I am not sure if I did something wrong, I found it pretty bland, even with adding garlic to the vegetables while they were being sauteed. This recipe does have potential though, maybe with some tweaking I can bring up the flavour...I will try replacing the flour, butter and milk mixture with a combination of cream of celery soup and 1/4 cup of wine...I may even heat that up and melt the cheese in that first before adding the sauteed vegetables and spreading over the crab and fish. I will try it again and rerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very good!! I ended up having to make with shrimp and crab because the fish I bought ended up spoiled so I had to thaw some raw shrimp and use that instead. It still was very good. My hubby and 7 year old son really loved this. I will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I substituted the wine and used chicken broth (I only had red wine) and the fish turned out fine. Overall this takes a bit of time to make but the results are well worth it. I used a 9 x 13 dish instead of individual ramekins. The sauce is very creamy and mushroomy tasting. I'm not sure it really needs the cheese on top...but I did add it. Next time I might omit it. This is very nice dish to prepare for company. This recipe also uses very expensive ingredients! Halibut isn't cheap and either is crabmeat. It cost me approx. $40 to make...not including the cost of sides and wine to drink! I also would recommend a new name for the recipe - this one annoys me! Haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States