The Ultimate Slow Cooked Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This was the best chili I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Tasted great! My family loved it. The only thing I changed was that I didn't have any worcestershire sauce so I substituted A-1 sauce and came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Ultimate Slow Cooked Chili Haiku: "Halved the recipe, but still way too many beans. Good, not 'ultimate.'" The ingredient list is unneccesarily long, but I was faithful to it, only not using the optional red wine, and sauteeing the bell pepper w/ the onion, beef and garlic in step 1. It just seemed like so many of those ingredients either competed w/ the others, or were just straight drowned out by the others. Definitely not saying it wasn't a good chili, just not mind-blowing. Glad that it called for Ranch-style beans though; we love those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I think this a great recipe, especially to feed a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spiffythehippie
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Made this recipe exactly as written, including adding 1/2 cup red wine for the final 2 hours of cooking. Flavor was perfect, not too spicy nor too mild. I will make this again and recommend it just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Good basic recipe. I think the green pepper and onions are great and I love the different kind of beans. I added black beans to my mixture as well. I also use half ground beef and half ground pork. It serves plenty of folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisiana, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I halved the recipe and it still filled my crock-pot. I did use the whole onion, green bell pepper. It is a pretty meaty and bean chili, not heavy on the tomatoes or tomato sauce for those that want more meat and bean chili. The flavor was a good balance and not spicy hot. I went ahead and added in my whole 7oz. cans of El Pato and tomato sauces, and it was still a pretty thick and meaty base. I didn't have Mexican stewed tomatoes but a 10 ounce can of diced tomatoes and green chilies was perfect to give a bit more tomatoes to the brew. The only thing missing for me after I tasted it was heat. So I added in a minced jalapeno. I totally forgot the optional red wine, but it was still good without it. This chili reminds me of the chili my friends in the Mid-west make, the ranch beans added a great flavor. Was good on a cold night and we did top with crushed tortillas and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States