The Ultimate Slow Cooked Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This was the best chili I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Tasted great! My family loved it. The only thing I changed was that I didn't have any worcestershire sauce so I substituted A-1 sauce and came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Ultimate Slow Cooked Chili Haiku: "Halved the recipe, but still way too many beans. Good, not 'ultimate.'" The ingredient list is unneccesarily long, but I was faithful to it, only not using the optional red wine, and sauteeing the bell pepper w/ the onion, beef and garlic in step 1. It just seemed like so many of those ingredients either competed w/ the others, or were just straight drowned out by the others. Definitely not saying it wasn't a good chili, just not mind-blowing. Glad that it called for Ranch-style beans though; we love those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I think this a great recipe, especially to feed a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spiffythehippie
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Made this recipe exactly as written, including adding 1/2 cup red wine for the final 2 hours of cooking. Flavor was perfect, not too spicy nor too mild. I will make this again and recommend it just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Good basic recipe. I think the green pepper and onions are great and I love the different kind of beans. I added black beans to my mixture as well. I also use half ground beef and half ground pork. It serves plenty of folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisiana, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I halved the recipe and it still filled my crock-pot. I did use the whole onion, green bell pepper. It is a pretty meaty and bean chili, not heavy on the tomatoes or tomato sauce for those that want more meat and bean chili. The flavor was a good balance and not spicy hot. I went ahead and added in my whole 7oz. cans of El Pato and tomato sauces, and it was still a pretty thick and meaty base. I didn't have Mexican stewed tomatoes but a 10 ounce can of diced tomatoes and green chilies was perfect to give a bit more tomatoes to the brew. The only thing missing for me after I tasted it was heat. So I added in a minced jalapeno. I totally forgot the optional red wine, but it was still good without it. This chili reminds me of the chili my friends in the Mid-west make, the ranch beans added a great flavor. Was good on a cold night and we did top with crushed tortillas and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States