The Ultimate Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
There are many cured Italian meats, pastas, cheeses, vegetables, and olives that can be used in a pasta salad. Seasonings: herbs, spices, aromatics, and vinegars can vary as well. Combine lettuce, Italian meats: pepperoni, salami, etc; chopped hot pickled vegetables (Giardiniera), Kalamata olives, roasted sweet red peppers, marinated mushrooms, and artichoke hearts. Imagine. Create. Experiment. “A recipe has no soul. You, as the cook, must bring soul to the recipe.” ~Thomas Keller Vivere, Amare, Ridere e Mangiare Bene! Translates to: To Live, To Love, To Laugh and To Eat Well! Buon Appetito! Translates to: Good appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I didn't exactly make this as written, but its a good starting point. I used two bags of Wacky Mac (24 ounces) versus the 16 ounces that the recipe specifies. I used the same amount of broccoli, cauliflower, red onion, garlic, pepperoni, cheese (although I used a mix of cheddar and mozzarella) and olives. I also added a small package of grape tomatoes and some Parmesan cheese. For the dressing, I used two .7 ounce packages of Good Seasons packets and followed the directions on the package, but using olive oil. The finished product was delicious, but almost a little too wet when it was all finished. To my surprise, though, when I got up in the morning, the salad had absorbed a lot of the dressing and it was a little too dry, so I had to add some bottled Italian dressing I had. Very good and easy to make, especially for a large crowd or a dish for a potluck. I'm sure my recipe served probably 25-30 people, as side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This excellent pasta salad is jam packed with yummy ingredients, and is hearty enough to eat as a meal. I have made it for parties and everyone loves it and requests the recipe. The recipe makes a ton of servings, so I always take some leftovers to work to share with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I've made this a bunch of times already. It's my "go-to" pasta salad. As another reviewer stated, it's a meal in itself. I have improvised according to what I've had in the fridge. This time I didn't have cauliflower, just broccoli and some diced provolone cheese to make up for the little amount of Mozzerella I had. I use turkey pepperoni to cut down on the calories. You really won't be able to tell the difference. The dressing is perfect. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYVIV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bayville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Made this for our barbecue and it was a hit with my family and guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sigmasuperstar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I don't understand the 4 1/2 star rating for this recipe. I made for a get-together over the weekend and not much got eaten. I thought it was too oily (guess I should've added the oil gradually) but at the same time, dry. Too much pepperoni, in my opinion, and I didn't even use as much as called for. Actually, too much mozzarella also. All of this could be easily fixed if I made it again, but it just didn't impress me enough to try. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Kudos Helene! This is one of the best pasta salad receipe around. I added grape tomatoes and Wishbone Zesty Italian dressing instead of olive oil, Italian dressing, etc. I made enough for 15 people and I thought I would come home from a BBQ with plenty left over but it the salad was devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I'm sorry to say this, but... not good. Have you ever eaten a bowl of something, waiting for it to be really good, and it never gets there? That was this for me. It had a pretty look with all of the colors, but the taste was not good. Too much twang from the oil/vinegar mixture, too much of a bite from the raw red onions, and just no flavor. I picked-out the noodles to eat them alone or with the mozzarella. I took it to a picnic tonight... no one said 'yum'. And it took waaay longer than 15 minutes to make, what with all of that chopping, so it was really disappointing to spend all of that time right before the event and then to have it be not-so-good. I'm sorry to be harsh.... It was just really missing a 'yummy' factor. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Yum! I omitted the pepperoni and added in artichokes and extra garlic! To make it wetter, I put in some of the olive juice and artichoke juice. Light and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by culturecooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I finally found a perfect pasta salad. I dislike the ones where it calls for a bottle of Italian dressing because it's so overpowering and I am not a fan of it to begin with. This was so light and refreshing and you could actually taste all the ingredients. Great recipe that will be a staple from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States