The Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
It's true, this is an excellent recipe. These are probably the best chocolate chip cookies I've ever made (just in time to give them with milk to Santa!). I didn't substitute baking soda with powder as many others did, but I DID use self-rising flour instead of all purpose. This kept them cookie-like but nice and thick. Bravo to the Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie! You live up to your name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is the recipe doubled from the back of the Butter Crisco tub. Ding-dang do I love it--have used it for years and years, and is the only thing I can say I really bake as "my thing." I *totally* agree that you have to add more flour. The strength of this cookie is that it's more substantial than the Toll House version, which is way too flat and thin for me. The Ultimate cookie is fluffy without being muffin-like. I add flour and sometimes I add even more brown sugar. I also sub M&M candy for the chips. And I add in tons since I don't use the nuts. If the recipe calls for 2 cups of chips and 2 cups of nuts, I just use 4 cups of M&Ms (and no nuts). It's very gourmet looking and tasting. I get rave reviews every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I followed recipe exact and these turned out to be the most moist chewy yummy chocolate chip cookies ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
My boyfriend is a chocolate chip cookie fanatic. I usually cut the recipe in half though as it makes so many cookies. This is by far, the BEST recipe I've found for chocolate chip cookies!!! I took the advice on using 1/2 powder and 1/2 soda...perfect! Also, I ran had to use butter this time, and I have to say, I almost like them better with real butter verses the shortning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These cookies were horrible. The dough looked like fluff not like cookie dough when I was done mixing everything, and the cookies deflated the longer they were out of the oven, and the inside was like it wasnt even cooked even though I put it back in twice. I only used this cause I forgot my usual recipe b/c I hadnt used it in a while. I found a copy of it after these cookies were done though, so if you have tried this or were going to, I suggest trying this recipe instead: 1/2 cup shortening, 6 tablespoons brown sugar, 6 tablespoons sugar, 1 egg, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, 1 1/8 cups all purpose flour, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt, few drosp hot water, 1/2 cups chopped nuts (optional), 6 oz chocolate chips; 1.Heat oven to 375, cream together shortening and sugars until fluffy, beat in egg and vanilla. 2. sift together flour, soda, and salt. add flour to mixture, add a few drops of hot water and mix until well blended. Stir in nuts and chocolate. 3.Drop by spoonfulls onto greased baking sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned. Makes 4 dozen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This recipe was pretty good. It was a huge temptation to leave the dough alone and not eat it. I usually have to tell her not to sneak little bits of it on her finger, eat it, and then repeat, but the dough was so good she had to keep ME from sneaking the dough!LOL! But somehow me and my daughter managed to get it in the oven without eating it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I made it for my family and it was soooooooooooo delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook of the year

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I have made this recipe my own to rave reviews by cookie experts! I now bake these beauties with from memory and with only a 1/2C measure, a tablespoon and a mixer. Our favorite variation is to omit the chips! The texture and flavor of the plain cooked dough alone is divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rodnobi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Chocolate chip cookies are comfort food to me, and this recipe delivers a perfect tradtional cookie to satisfy those cravings. I really like that is relies heavily on brown sugar and shortening (no white sugar in the recipe), to me those two ingredients really make the real chocolate chip cookie taste. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy2Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Elkton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
One of my favorite CCC recipes. I omit the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States