The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This meal is delicious!! I added brown sugar and a generous portion of my favorite red wine. I also added adobo sauce for a slight smokey kick! Husband loved it. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
WAY TOO MUCH CHILI POWDER FOR ME!! I followed the ingredients but I did add some extras like onion and a little minced garlic. When I first tasted the chili it gave me instant heart burn! lol I couldnt figure out what was making it so hot... my only guess is that it has to be too much chili powder. I tried my best to create a concoction that would lessen the burn, but it was still WAY too SPICY! Next time... I would definitely put 1 TBS Chili powder instead. The chili tastes absolutely delicious besides the severe burn! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I tried this and liked it very much. As with many dishes everyone has their own preferences. My additions and deletions to the recipe might not be to everyone's taste. I sample the dish before I serve it and add whatever I think might appeal to my family. If there is an ingredient we don't like I don't add it. For example, I cannot tolerate garlic, therefore never use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Very good and equally tangy! Not very hearty as far as a chili goes though. So good there were no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Great tasting tangy chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joebaby!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Really like this recipe! I like the use of the red wine vinegar to brighten up the dish. I'm also a big fan of cumin. So, I tend to be generous with it. Just yesterday I made this chili but used a Belgian stout instead of the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
We made this chili pretty much as written, except that we realized at the last second that we didn't have red wine vinegar, so we subbed white wine vinegar instead. My husband is a little picky and likes his chili more traditional, so as we were making it he mentioned that he didn't think he'd like it, but he ended up loving it as well! It's definitely a unique flavor, but it's a nice combo of sweet, tangy and spicy. Next time we'll probably use the diced Mexican style tomatoes, but other than that we won't change it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made this in my crockpot for a barbeque and it was a hit! Make sure your lid is slightly vented so everything can cook down properly.I made mine overnight and in the morning it was very soupy. I just removed the cover and let it cook for another hour and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This chili wasn't bad, but it was pretty meh. I couldn't find Mexican style stewed tomatoes, so I just used regular stewed tomatoes and added 2 little cans of diced green chills. I think the stewed tomatoes were a mistake. This chili tasted sweet and bland, which big chunks of tomato. It would be better with Rotel style diced tomatoes, and a lot more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States