The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Very good Chili! Unfortunately, it was missing the "kick" my husband I love. So, I added the following ingredients and if you like it spicy try adding these: 2T Garlic Powder, 1T Cayenne Pepper, 1T Salt, 3T Brown Sugar, 2T Honey, and 1T of extra Chili Powder. Oh yeah, a suggestion to thicken up the chili is to use 2T of Corn Starch with 4T Water. Hats off to Wendy for creating this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I have been using this chili recipe for a year now, and it's been accidentally tweaked (I was too lazy to write this down and my printer was out of ink and I lost the original copy I had printed) I never use as much vinegar as the recipe calls for anymore (2 tablespoons is plenty) and I add more than a dash of worcestershire. Also, I never addedthe red wine since I havent found one I like cooking with that isnt expensive. When I brown the beef, I usually use up whatever onion and garlic I have left in my fridge and I have omitted the celery and bell pepper before (I have also added more than the recipe calls for the empty out my fridge) All in all, this is a great recipe, and especially good when it's been sitting in the fridge a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
The wine is what makes this so outstanding. I have made this several times and I thought I just have to let my fellow cookers know how good this is. I added onions, minced garlic and a small can of green chili peppers at the same time I added the other ingredients. Try this, you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
With some additions, this is a nice chili. I HAD to have onion in my chili so sauteed, on the stovetop, 1-1/2 onions (what I had on hand), and added it to the mixture. Also added cayenne pepper, 3 fresh garlic cloves and 1T garlic powder, 1 or 2tsp salt, 2T brown sugar, and a 4oz can of diced green chiles. Went with the advice of another reviewer who wanted to kick it up for spiciness, but her recommendations were WAY too high when she suggested adding 1T cayenne pepper. I used 1tsp and it was way too hot, and we like spicy food. Next time, I'd bring it down to 1/4 to 1/2tsp. I drained my beans, and so did not find the chili was soupy as some experienced, but as a result of the too-spicy effect, I did add 3 extra cans of beans and a medium can of tomato paste to tame it a little. I recommend "squishing" the tomatoes as they don't break down in the crockpot process. I did use black beans, kidney beans, and pinto beans for a little variety and that was a nice touch. The red wine addition added such a nice flavor to the dish. Served with French Baguette from allrecipes and had a lemon sorbet for dessert with a touch of lemoncello to cool off our palates! ;-) Thank you, Wendy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I have learned from making chili recipes off this site that I do not care for the taste of red wine vinegar - to tangy for chili - personal preference - depends on what kind of chili you like - I like spicy and meaty tasting chili - not tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I knew this chili was going to be good because it has cumin in it. That ingredient, in my opinion, is a must for good chili (the basil also added a little something extra). I do not think more meat is necessary at all. 1LB of meat is plenty & this recipe has a nice soupy consistency. I omitted the celery & the red wine vinegar (didn't have any). I added 1 onion, 3 cloves of garlic, & 1/2 tablespoon of crushed red pepper (for a little heat). This chili is delicious & will offer a nice alternative to my meatier chili recipe this coming winter. (lil hint: I normally squish stewed tomatoes thru my fingers to break them up before adding them to the pot. I thought the slow cooker would take care of that but I was wrong so will presquish next time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
My first time making chili! Thanks for the easy recipe, the flavor was fantastic. The only changes I made was 1 can kidney beans, 1 can black bean, 1 can pinto beans, just to mix it up. The texture was a little soupy, anyone have ideas on how to thicken it up? Otherwise excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
This chili was fantastic! To bring down the 'heat' a bit I cut the chili powder to 1 tablespoon and added one can tomato paste for more density. Best chili I ever had and so EASY to prepare. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
I added extra chili powder and cumin, as well as a half can of beer and this recipe was wonderful! a definite keeper. I made it in a crock pot and it was nice to come home to the aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This is the best chili I have ever had. It was easy to make. My kids love it because it's more like a stew, and my husband loves it and took leftovers to work. His co-workers raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethalto, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States