The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I made a couple of adjustments and forgot the vinegar, but it turned out AWESOME! Only did 2 cans of beans - 1 dark red kidney bean and 1 chili beans in chili sauce, and used "Chili Ready" canned tomatoes instead. I'm guessing that because I used already seasoned beans and tomatoes, it didn't matter that I forgot the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Never made chili with red wine vinegar. Does red wine vinegar actually have any alcohol content? Also does anyone know what would be a suitable substuit for red or white wine in recipes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I've been making a "signature" chili for years but made this for the family one day to mix it up. My wife immediately said it was her favorite, haha! Really good, acid really works. And just because there's no heat doesn't mean you can't bring it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Good basic recipe but too many flavors fighting for attention. no HEAT. Gotta have some heat! Leave out the basil and add a little fresh finely chopped cilantro. If you don't have fresh tomatoes and peppers try using "Rotel" tomatoes to suit your taste. This not a competition chili but is easy to make and experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
SO simple and delicious! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This chili was outstanding - the next day. When I ate some the day I cooked it, it tasted like there was something missing, but I couldn't figure out what it was. But, I am having the leftovers now for lunch, and wow! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was awesome. My ground beef pkg was 1.6 lbs. I omitted the bell pepper because I don't like them, added half a large diced onion to the beef when browning, omitted the red wine, cut the chili powder to about 1/2 - 3/4 T, and added about 3/4 T of white sugar. I didn't have Mexican Stewed tomatoes so I used petite diced. I also added a small can of Tomato sauce. I didn't have any canned beans so I used a bag of dried small red beans that I cooked in plain water the previous night. This really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I spent years working as a cook in a restaurant that specialized in both green and red chili, and this is awfully close to the recipe that we used. Couple differences: use white pepper instead of black, add a small can (maybe 6 oz) of golden corn, and add about a Tbsp of chopped garlic to the beef for a the last few minutes during the browning process. Excellent recipe, and nearly foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matty Guerin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This one is a non-starter. At 6 servings the yield here is 2-3 oz meat per serving and 7-8 oz of beans per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I don't know what the people did that state this dish has no kick? I think they have no tastebuds! I love my chilli hot and this certainly has a huge kick and plenty of flavour, very tasty indeed. I stuck to the recipe here and it was lovely, next day was even better. TIP. For those that found it had no kick. Throw out your old chili powder and buy some new chili powder - it can lose all its heat and flavour when stored for a month or more! D'uh! (Thanks Wendy this is a lovely recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gnome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

Displaying results 71-80 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States