The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made it for mine and my husband's 5 year anniversary and he said its better than anything he's had before. Needless to say this will be the recipe my children grow up on. Its also really good with chicken. Just need two big size chicken breasts. Just cook them up before and rip them apart using two forks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I added a dash of cinnamon and a few thai chili peppers- but aside from that I wouldn't change a thing. Dumped all the ingredients into a slow cooker and left for work. Came home to the most amazing chili- the red wine and vinegar definitely give it a nice and different kick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Not sure I'd term this the "ultimate" chili, but it was good. I have a hard time conceiving of chili without onion, so I did add that, but otherwise followed the recipe pretty closely. The wine and the touch of vinegar added a nice touch. I did find this needed more seasoning, but that's a personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This recipe is okay, but not outstanding. I found the vinegar and the wine gave it a sour taste. It was also soupy, and not thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Sorry but this " Ultimate " chili is just too tame to call itself Ultimate. Where's the garlic, hot sauce or onions etc. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I made this as described except I used celery flakes instead of fresh celery (I really don't like chunks of stuff in my chili). I ran the pepper and tomatoes through the food processor. The chili was very well received by the family and looks like our new "go to" chili recipe. It is has a little heavier tomato flavor and personally, I would go a little heavier on the chili powder next time, but everyone else liked it the way it is, so I guess I'll leave it alone, other than adding a little more meat. I don't know how much everyone else eats, but we had 4 adults and 3 kids eat this last night and probably still have 4-6 bowls left, so I don't know that I believe that it is only six servings - there are six cans of beans and tomatoes alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I don't use Mexican tomatoes,just regular tomatoes, and I use Northern Beans not kidney beans - but - add a heaping tablespoon of creamy peanut butter melted in to take this over the top in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe - adding from other reviewers - 3 Tbsp. vinegar, 2 Tbsp garlic powder, 1/2 Tbsp Cayenne, 3 Tbsp. brown sugar & 2 Tbsp honey. This is the absolute best Chili recipe you will ever make. No one - but no one can top this. NO restaurant can begin to touch it. The title "The Ultimate Chili" - is 100% on the mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Great recipe. I used fake meat because I am veggie. I used a green pepper, instead of red, and replaced one can of kidney beans w/ black beans because that is what I had on hand. I also added some green onions because I had some that I had to use up. I also drained and rinsed the beans. I only cooked it for 3 hours before serving because I got a late start and didn't think my family would be happy waiting until 9 for dinner. My 7 year old daughter loved this recipe and ate two big bowls full and said it was the best chili she has ever had. This is definitely more than 6 servings. I have plenty left over for dinner tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I always read reviews first, but seeing nearly 5 stars I just went for it. MISTAKE. If you read all the positive reviews most have added additions to them, too. We love chilli and are not in any way chilli snobs. I like to try a different recipe each time and usually even the worst recipe is still alright. This was just... odd. The celery was pointless. I didn't really taste it in there, so it was an added step. No tomato sauce made it very watery, more like a beef soup broth instead of the thicker tomato base of most chilis. No onions was just sad. The stewed tomatoes were WAY too big. The small amount of chili powder was very lacking. Picture a bland chili in beef broth with giant tomatoes. I saved it by adding tomato sauce, onions and tons more chili powder. There was an under lying weird taste to it. I'm thinking it was the red wine vinegar or the red wine. It was edible before my additions, but I'd never ever make this again. My chilli loving husband who will eat any kind of chili in a can with a smile tasted this and said it was gross. Yikes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States