The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This chili wasn't bad, but it was pretty meh. I couldn't find Mexican style stewed tomatoes, so I just used regular stewed tomatoes and added 2 little cans of diced green chills. I think the stewed tomatoes were a mistake. This chili tasted sweet and bland, which big chunks of tomato. It would be better with Rotel style diced tomatoes, and a lot more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made this the other night and its a keeper for us! I did not add the red wine vinegar as the others said, I did not see how it could have added to it especially after I tasted it. Not sure what to do about the liquid though, the first day it was almost souplike but the next day it was nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Awesome!!! Love the wine! I just buy those small one serving bottles so I'm not wasting a whole bottle( im not a red wine drinker). I add a ton of garlic, 2 tbl spoons of tomato paste, a bay leaf, a jalapeño pepper or two, onion, cayenne pepper, paprika, and a zucchini. I serve it with fresh cilantro, lime, sour cream and cheese. The best chili I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TFR1959
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Great recipe for a busy day! I substituted Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage for the ground beef, and it was great! The sausage and the wine added great flavor! I just made this for the second time. This time I substituted Johnsonville mild Italian Sausage. It was Great! I highly recommend this recipe, especially with the Johnsonville sausage --It adds such great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This is the only chili I make now. Use the add on ingredients and I substitute celery powder for actual celery cause the Fam doesn't like celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Made this chili as per the recipe, no changes. If you try it right out of the crock pot, it is a little bland. It taste better the next day after the flavors have melded. Also, I froze the chili in 2 cup increments using plastic containers and I am still enjoying it 3 months later. I defrost the frozen chili in the refrigerator then hold it one more day after it is defrosted. Excellent taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Loved it! I added garlic and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana from Murrieta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I added onion and.minced garlic. Increased cumin and chilie powder recommended by other reviewers. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
The Ultimate Chili Haiku: "I'm with Crabby here. Red wine vinegar, no thanks. Killed the taste for us." Everything should've been perfectly good in this chili (and I try to aim to make a new chili recipe nearly every week, so I'm always on the prowl for new and unusual ways, or ingredients, for preparing it), but the red wine vinegar was just too much for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States