The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This has been our favorite chili recipe since I first found it in December of 1999. I make it every Christmas Eve! It makes the evening hassle free. I do everything pretty much to the recipe. I often forget to put the wine in and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
tasty! I used 1 can dark red, 1 can black and 1 can pinto beans. Also, a chopped onion and 2 large cloves of garlic, and at the time we had just a red table wine to put in. Tasted very good! Oh, and only 1 T. of chili powder. Made it again and used 1 can of RoTel tomatoes, 1 can Italian stewed tomatoes and 1 can diced. A can red kidney beans, 1 can, red beans and 1 can pintos. Also about 1 1/2 T. chili powder, onion, red and green pepper. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This has been a staple in our home for a few years now and we LOVE it! I have made it as is, I have substituted things when I didn't have the exact ingredients (red pepper for green pepper, red for white wine, worcestershire sauce and salt for soy sauce), etc and it has always came out so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I was craving chili & this hit the spot! I actually prefer my chili on the soupy side. I did have to add hot sauce cause I like it really hot! It was really good, however, it's not quite the chili I am in search of. It's a great start though, I might experiment with it & who knows I could possibly make it "the one"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crashamy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I couldn't follow this recipe exactly because I didn't have the red wine but that was the only thing I left out. I got mixed reviews on this one. Me personally I thought it was very good but my husband did not like at all. He said it was too sweet tasting. Kids weren't all that impressed either but they did eat it (loaded with crackers and cheese) where my husband would not take another bite. I would like to try it again for sure but maybe change it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Beechgrove, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Yum this was great! I used 2 cans of rotel and one can regular diced tomatoes and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoltman
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe! Like others, I added 2 tsp. of brown sugar, more chili powder and cayenne pepper. I also thickened the chili using two tsp. of corn starch. My wife loved it! My recommendation is to also make Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread, an excellent recipe from allrecipes.com. It's easy to make and can easily be done while the chili is cooking in the slow cooker. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was a great recipe but I changed it somewhat for my husbands liking. Instead of the Mexican-style stewed tomatoes I used 2 cans of tomato sauce to make it thicker. Instead of the red bell pepper I used two Serrano peppers to make it extra spicy. I added some minced garlic and left out the red wine because I didn't have any handy! It turned out wonderful! The peppers make it very hot, so beware if you aren't used to really spicy things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I found the wine and vinegar made the chilli taste sour. Did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe. I like onions so I added 1/2 cup to the recipe. I will make this recipe again, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States