The Ultimate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Really like this recipe! I like the use of the red wine vinegar to brighten up the dish. I'm also a big fan of cumin. So, I tend to be generous with it. Just yesterday I made this chili but used a Belgian stout instead of the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
We made this chili pretty much as written, except that we realized at the last second that we didn't have red wine vinegar, so we subbed white wine vinegar instead. My husband is a little picky and likes his chili more traditional, so as we were making it he mentioned that he didn't think he'd like it, but he ended up loving it as well! It's definitely a unique flavor, but it's a nice combo of sweet, tangy and spicy. Next time we'll probably use the diced Mexican style tomatoes, but other than that we won't change it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made this in my crockpot for a barbeque and it was a hit! Make sure your lid is slightly vented so everything can cook down properly.I made mine overnight and in the morning it was very soupy. I just removed the cover and let it cook for another hour and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This chili wasn't bad, but it was pretty meh. I couldn't find Mexican style stewed tomatoes, so I just used regular stewed tomatoes and added 2 little cans of diced green chills. I think the stewed tomatoes were a mistake. This chili tasted sweet and bland, which big chunks of tomato. It would be better with Rotel style diced tomatoes, and a lot more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made this the other night and its a keeper for us! I did not add the red wine vinegar as the others said, I did not see how it could have added to it especially after I tasted it. Not sure what to do about the liquid though, the first day it was almost souplike but the next day it was nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Awesome!!! Love the wine! I just buy those small one serving bottles so I'm not wasting a whole bottle( im not a red wine drinker). I add a ton of garlic, 2 tbl spoons of tomato paste, a bay leaf, a jalapeño pepper or two, onion, cayenne pepper, paprika, and a zucchini. I serve it with fresh cilantro, lime, sour cream and cheese. The best chili I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TFR1959
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Great recipe for a busy day! I substituted Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage for the ground beef, and it was great! The sausage and the wine added great flavor! I just made this for the second time. This time I substituted Johnsonville mild Italian Sausage. It was Great! I highly recommend this recipe, especially with the Johnsonville sausage --It adds such great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This is the only chili I make now. Use the add on ingredients and I substitute celery powder for actual celery cause the Fam doesn't like celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Made this chili as per the recipe, no changes. If you try it right out of the crock pot, it is a little bland. It taste better the next day after the flavors have melded. Also, I froze the chili in 2 cup increments using plastic containers and I am still enjoying it 3 months later. I defrost the frozen chili in the refrigerator then hold it one more day after it is defrosted. Excellent taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States