The Ultimate Brownie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This recipe is similar to one I've had for a couple of years. My comments are as follows: the butter should be melted and cocoa added to that. This cooks the cocoa (like when you boil cocoa to drink).Take off the heat and then put in the sugar. Sugar should not be mixed while the fire is on because it will caramelize and spoil the whole mix. The sugar will still be in granules but that doesn't matter because that gives the brownies top its crust.I think 7 eggs refers to medium sized eggs, while most of us are used to using large eggs for baking.It's okay to add the eggs after this because the sugar has cooled the mix and the eggs won't get accidentally cooked.Should you find the batter slightly lumpy after adding the flour,simply press it against the side of the saucepan with a large wooden spoon to dissolve the lumps.If your oven tends to be a bit hot, reduce the temperature and cook a bit longer. This also reduces the cakey texture.For those who do not like the thickness, simply use a bigger pan. All obstacles overcome, this recipe is really a winner.Enjoy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
They taste great, but the instructions weren't clear enough. They say to remove the butter and sugar from the heat, then add the eggs. HOWEVER, you must let the mixture cool before you add the eggs, or the eggs will cook like egg drop soup when you add them. I had to find that out the hard way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
These brownies had a great taste. I did make a few changes like others. I used only 5 eggs, and cooked in a 9/13 pan. I also only cooked them for 35 mins. They were great! I took them to work and they were gone in 20 mins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This recipe was very easy to follow and made a very good brownie. I turned it into cream cheese brownies by adding 8oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup sugar, 1 egg, 1/4tst vanilla and 1/4 cup milk, blend until smooth, spoon into three even lines over the brownie mix, swirl the cream cheese into the batter and bake as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
I lost my favorite recipe for brownies and I've been searching for a replacement ever since. This is the closest thing I've found. I'm a fan of fudgey, gooey brownies (if I want cake, I'll make a Devil's Food, not brownies). Like many folks, I tweaked this recipe. *6 eggs instead of 7. Next time I'll try 5 as these were still a tad cakey. *I added 2 oz unsweetened baking chocolate to the butter when I melted it. I thought it was wrong to make brownies only using cocoa powder. Initially, I eliminated 1/4 c. of the cocoa powder, but then I added it anyway. The brownies were decadently rich...although, in my mind, the words "chocolate" and "overkill" are mutually exclusive. * I used a 9x13 pan, made a sleeve of aluminum foil, and put the pan in an ice bath immediately after I removed it from the oven (you could also pop it in the freezer, but my freezer was full). The brownies slowly sunk, making them much more dense than they would normally have been. The ice bath also gives you that nice sheen on the top of the brownies. The aluminum foil peeled off the brownies quite easily, without any oil or spray. All in all, I liked it. I'll probably still tinker with it a bit, but it's a great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
These turned out to be absolutely delicious. I was skeptical while making the brownies but, now that I have one in my hand, this recipe has won me over! Quick and easy to make, chewy, and full of flavor! I took others' advice and used a larger pan (once you try the recipe, you'll see exactly why), used PAM only (no foil), added 6 eggs instead of 7, and allowed the sugar/butter mixture to cool down before adding the eggs. I also sprinkled powdered sugar on top of the cooked brownies. they only took 30 minutes in the oven. Make sure you keep an eye on them or they'll overcook and those moist brownies you were craving will go right out the window. ;) This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I just feel the need to let everyone know the calorie count on these is WAY off - I've checked and double-checked and using calculations from online calorie-counters, 1/24 of this recipe is closer to 625 calories, maybe higher. Which I'm sure is what makes them delicious. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This recipe is a good, just like many others I have found and very simple to make. So I am reading about problems with the butter being to hot. Ok after my 20 years of baking, here is my advice, let the butter stand at room temperature until very soft, then you can use that in the mix, you do not have to have the butter melted all the way, but you do have to have the butter very soft, or just stick the butter in the microwave for 30 seconds or so, just until very soft, then mix the butter with the rest of the ingredients, also, you do not want to over mix the batter, thats a NO,NO. Follow the rest of the recipe and brownies will come out just fine, I promise you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
So yummy and fudgy! I omitted the nuts and used fewer eggs (2 eggs, and a 9x9 pan, for a half-batch). I also used margarine instead of unsalted butter (and therefore omitted the salt). Instead of waiting for the hot butter mixture to cool before mixing with eggs, I added it to the eggs about 1/4 cup at a time, mixing well each time, and had no problem with it cooking the eggs, though it was right off the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Point Roberts, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
This recipe is very good. The overall taste and texture was awesome. The recipe has many faults though, a 9x9 pan is much too small. I used a 9x13. I didnt add walnuts because i dont like them and that worked fine. DO NOT add foil to the bottom of the pan, the foil sticks to the bottoms of the brownies and is hard to get off, you end up with a pile of crumbs by the end. Adding a galze on top is a great idea, like a light vanilla galze. Glazes also help to keep it together and stop it from crumbling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States