The Ultimate Brownie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This comes out really good. After losing my favourite recipe, and looking everywhere, this comes nearest. I did add some nutella, and sprinkled chocolate chips on top. I don't get why everyone was confused in the instructions. All I did was pop the butter in the micro for 30 seconds, and then started mixing the dry ingredients. By that time, the butter had cooled down, and it was all so simple. Only problem was that it got a little burned around the edges, 35 mins should suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
These brownies are lethal. I've only ever heard one complaint about 'em: they're too rich! If you don't consider that to be a bad thing, then these are the brownies for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
When these first came out of the oven, they were cakey, and I thought "Oh no." Eventually they cooled and were perfectly fudgy. I took what everyone said into consideration, and here are the changes I made: used 5 eggs for less cake-like texture, didn't have any chopped nuts so I used 1.5 cups of chocolate chips, and baked in 9x13 pan for 45 minutes at 300F. Brownies came out about 1.5 inches thick despite using a larger pan. The 4 pieces that were in the center were too gooey but still held their shape. The other pieces were perfect. Next time I'll definitely add nuts because the chocolate chips made it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I had high hopes for this recipe. It was a gooey mess in the middle while the outside was cooked well. I was pretty disappointed since the recipe used quite a lot of ingredients - which were a complete waste. I ended up throwing most of the pan away. I wonder if it should have been cooked in a 13x9 pan instead of a 9x9?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIVREYNOLDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This recipe is a good, just like many others I have found and very simple to make. So I am reading about problems with the butter being to hot. Ok after my 20 years of baking, here is my advice, let the butter stand at room temperature until very soft, then you can use that in the mix, you do not have to have the butter melted all the way, but you do have to have the butter very soft, or just stick the butter in the microwave for 30 seconds or so, just until very soft, then mix the butter with the rest of the ingredients, also, you do not want to over mix the batter, thats a NO,NO. Follow the rest of the recipe and brownies will come out just fine, I promise you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Easy to make and open to healthy substitutions. Used whole-wheat flour and substituted 2/3 of the required butter with apple sauce. Topped with icing sugar for presentation. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Added eggs last and used 6 large instead of 7 (?medium).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This recipe was very easy to follow and made a very good brownie. I turned it into cream cheese brownies by adding 8oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup sugar, 1 egg, 1/4tst vanilla and 1/4 cup milk, blend until smooth, spoon into three even lines over the brownie mix, swirl the cream cheese into the batter and bake as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Don't get me wrong..the flavour of these is to die for but.... I had problems with the centre being too underdone and the outside being done! I like gooey but this was uncooked gooey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This recipe is similar to one I've had for a couple of years. My comments are as follows: the butter should be melted and cocoa added to that. This cooks the cocoa (like when you boil cocoa to drink).Take off the heat and then put in the sugar. Sugar should not be mixed while the fire is on because it will caramelize and spoil the whole mix. The sugar will still be in granules but that doesn't matter because that gives the brownies top its crust.I think 7 eggs refers to medium sized eggs, while most of us are used to using large eggs for baking.It's okay to add the eggs after this because the sugar has cooled the mix and the eggs won't get accidentally cooked.Should you find the batter slightly lumpy after adding the flour,simply press it against the side of the saucepan with a large wooden spoon to dissolve the lumps.If your oven tends to be a bit hot, reduce the temperature and cook a bit longer. This also reduces the cakey texture.For those who do not like the thickness, simply use a bigger pan. All obstacles overcome, this recipe is really a winner.Enjoy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States