The Ultimate Brownie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I just made these brownies again tonight..... sooo fudgy and delicious! I've made these a handful of times before over a long period of time and they are always as good as I remembered. I like to cut the recipe in half and use an 8x8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
These brownies were AMAZING! This was my first time making homemade brownies and I will never go back to boxes. It was very easy and the taste is delicious. I followed the comments and added the butter to the cocoa powder. I then removed it from the heat and allowed it to cool while I beat up the eggs. I then mixed them in with no problem and added the flour. I cooked them in a 9x13 pan for 30 min and they came out perfectly. This recipe is a keeper. It is so chocolaty and yummy! If you don't like very dark chocolate brownies these won't be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I wanted to teach my friends 6 year old granddaughter about baking from scratch and we used this recipe. It turned out GREAT!!! The only thing we did different is use a 9x13 pan and baked for approx. 30 minutes. We had lots of fun! Breaking all those eggs was good practice for her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
We used 5 large eggs as others had suggested, and we mixed in a bag of mint chocolate chips before baking. We used a 9x13 pan for 40 minutes at 350 and they came out perfectly. They're still very thick even with the larger pan. They're a huge hit with our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
These are by far the best brownies I ever ate. I added a layer of carmel on the top, but it was not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I LOVE this recipe, it is my favorite by far! I have even mixed it up by substituting the butter for organic coconut oil, and adding shredded coconut and chocolate chips. Divine recipe as followed, and just as good with the coconut twist. I substituted equal parts butter and coconut oil and found no difference in the consistency. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metagoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
These are lovely brownies.. my favorite brownie mix, but there are a few tricks to ensure they are 5 star brownies. I originally chose this recipe one random night because " SEVEN eggs? THREE sticks of butter? This is gonna be good!" 1; They taste a LOT better the next day, so make them ahead of time. I was actually pretty ticked off the 1st time I made them "these aren't all that special, what a waste of time! 2; put them in a 13 x 9 pan, more to share and a bit thinner. It took me 40 mins. to cook it. To see if it's fully cooked, test an area that is one inch from the edge of pan not in the middle. Don't over cook. These are *fudgy* brownies. What I deviated from with the suggestions from other people; I used 6 xl eggs. use 7 if you have medium eggs. I used 1/2 vanilla and 1/2 almond extract After melting butter, I put in 3 generous spoon fulls of the cocoa in it, and cooled off the pan a bit before adding sugar. I added it about 1 cup at a time to get it really mixed up and then transferred to a bowl. You want to use a heavy duty whisk for mixing in the eggs, 1 at a time. I put the flour, remaining cocoa and salt into the sifter, stirred it up a bit, and sifted it directly into the batter making a medium/light coating on top, stirred in, rinse-repeat until it's all mixed in. Def. use tinfoil. It won't be horrible if you don't, but easier to cut up if you do. If you don't like an intense chocolate experience, these brownies aren't for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Made this with 5 eggs as others recommended. Used Pecans instead of walnuts because that is what I had. These are chewy, moist, chocolatly, and FABULOUS! I melted the butter in a big bowl in the microwave. Added the sugar, stirred. Mixed rest of dry ingredients together and then stirred into butter/sugar mixture. I put in a 10X10 pan. I think I overcooked a bit because I forgot I put it in a slightly larger pan. (I used really good cocoa powder. Callebaut. Pernigotti is also really nice and that one can be purchased at Williams Sonoma)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Very moist Brownies, I also followed every one else sugestion. Only used 5-eggs. I also had some chocolate flavoring on hand used 2 Tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is my only brownie recipe! My family absolutely loves these brownies. Never any leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States