The Twenty Dollar Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I've made these burgers several times, and they always turn out great. Occasionally I don't have yoghurt in the fridge so I have used sour cream or creme fraiche, and they work just as well. Plus it's near impossible to find chipotle sauce in the UK so I just use fresh chillies. Fab recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
We tried this recipe with turkey burger and it was delicious! My dad and brother don't like turkey burger but loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I keep finding myself coming back to this recipe when making hamburgers. The one ingredient I consistently don't have on hand, however, is horseradish... yet the burgers are still delicious. When short on other ingredients, I have made substitutions with success. For instance, sour cream is an acceptable sub for yogurt, 1 tsp dried subs for 1Tb fresh parsley, and chipotle powder -or you can grind dried chipotles - with a splash of vinager works if you don't have chipotle hot sauce. I didn't have low-sodium soy sauce; so I used regular and cut back on the salt. As long as you keep close to the essential flavors of the recipe's ingredients, it's a real winner. And although I normally DO put bleu cheese on hamburgers, I think these are better without it. Hubby and I hate to overpower these burgers' flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Really good everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I have to say it was "fun" to make. I like the idea of sauted onions, sourcream/yogurt with horse radish, and all the seasonings...but something in there needs a tweak. I had to add bread crumbs too so it would hold together. Edit: My husband loved it, so I gave this a second try. I still had to add the bread crumbs. Half the cayenne makes the point. And I guess this recipe will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
These were spicy and had a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I used half the red pepper and people still thought it was spicy. I thought it was the perfect amount of heat. Burgers tended to fall apart so I added bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacecoaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
We have made this burger several times already... it is so delicious! It's also a fun one to experiment with, adding new and unique ingredients. A word of caution if you experiment though.... my husband and I did find is that if you add too many 'wet' ingredients, the burgers won't stick together and become difficult to grill. Perhaps the addition of breadcrumbs or instant rice might combat this. Otherwise, this burger gets our stamp of approval! It is PACKED with flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Burger was Pretty good was having problems keeping them together a bit on the grill. no chance of drying out these bad boys though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OMGCookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Burger was ok. My husband thought the buger would have been better without the cilantro, just seemed out of place. I thought the burger was maybe too salty, just didn't taste right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States