The Twenty Dollar Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I made these for a house full of teenagers and I got great reviews. They said they were the best homemade hamburgers they ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborahwagoner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Loved this burger!I never leave comments for recipes,but this was so good I just had to!I used sour cream instead of yogurt and I can defintly see why some people used breadcrumbs to help hold it together.I didn't but I dont see how they could do anything but help,I used a george foreman grill so no flipping was needed so that probably helped keep it together.So yummy defintly a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I've made these burgers several times, and they always turn out great. Occasionally I don't have yoghurt in the fridge so I have used sour cream or creme fraiche, and they work just as well. Plus it's near impossible to find chipotle sauce in the UK so I just use fresh chillies. Fab recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
We tried this recipe with turkey burger and it was delicious! My dad and brother don't like turkey burger but loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I keep finding myself coming back to this recipe when making hamburgers. The one ingredient I consistently don't have on hand, however, is horseradish... yet the burgers are still delicious. When short on other ingredients, I have made substitutions with success. For instance, sour cream is an acceptable sub for yogurt, 1 tsp dried subs for 1Tb fresh parsley, and chipotle powder -or you can grind dried chipotles - with a splash of vinager works if you don't have chipotle hot sauce. I didn't have low-sodium soy sauce; so I used regular and cut back on the salt. As long as you keep close to the essential flavors of the recipe's ingredients, it's a real winner. And although I normally DO put bleu cheese on hamburgers, I think these are better without it. Hubby and I hate to overpower these burgers' flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Really good everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I have to say it was "fun" to make. I like the idea of sauted onions, sourcream/yogurt with horse radish, and all the seasonings...but something in there needs a tweak. I had to add bread crumbs too so it would hold together. Edit: My husband loved it, so I gave this a second try. I still had to add the bread crumbs. Half the cayenne makes the point. And I guess this recipe will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
These were spicy and had a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I used half the red pepper and people still thought it was spicy. I thought it was the perfect amount of heat. Burgers tended to fall apart so I added bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacecoaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
We have made this burger several times already... it is so delicious! It's also a fun one to experiment with, adding new and unique ingredients. A word of caution if you experiment though.... my husband and I did find is that if you add too many 'wet' ingredients, the burgers won't stick together and become difficult to grill. Perhaps the addition of breadcrumbs or instant rice might combat this. Otherwise, this burger gets our stamp of approval! It is PACKED with flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States