The Twenty Dollar Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
These were just ok. I was so excited after all the great reviews but they were very mushy. The only change I made was to substitute sour cream for the yogurt like others had done. The flavor was good but just too mushy. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This is a good burger. I doubled the recipe and followed it exactly until it was time to mix the seasoned yogurt in with the meat. I realized that if I mixed the entire amount I would have a soup that would not hold together on the grill. So I mixed what seemed to make sense and had about half the yogurt mixture left when I was done. Next time I might try the suggestion of mixing in some oatmeal to help them hold together. Anyway, everyone liked them at the party, even though my husband thought some may not. Even the well done burgers were juicy and full of flavor. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I made these for a house full of teenagers and I got great reviews. They said they were the best homemade hamburgers they ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborahwagoner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Loved this burger!I never leave comments for recipes,but this was so good I just had to!I used sour cream instead of yogurt and I can defintly see why some people used breadcrumbs to help hold it together.I didn't but I dont see how they could do anything but help,I used a george foreman grill so no flipping was needed so that probably helped keep it together.So yummy defintly a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I've made these burgers several times, and they always turn out great. Occasionally I don't have yoghurt in the fridge so I have used sour cream or creme fraiche, and they work just as well. Plus it's near impossible to find chipotle sauce in the UK so I just use fresh chillies. Fab recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
We tried this recipe with turkey burger and it was delicious! My dad and brother don't like turkey burger but loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I keep finding myself coming back to this recipe when making hamburgers. The one ingredient I consistently don't have on hand, however, is horseradish... yet the burgers are still delicious. When short on other ingredients, I have made substitutions with success. For instance, sour cream is an acceptable sub for yogurt, 1 tsp dried subs for 1Tb fresh parsley, and chipotle powder -or you can grind dried chipotles - with a splash of vinager works if you don't have chipotle hot sauce. I didn't have low-sodium soy sauce; so I used regular and cut back on the salt. As long as you keep close to the essential flavors of the recipe's ingredients, it's a real winner. And although I normally DO put bleu cheese on hamburgers, I think these are better without it. Hubby and I hate to overpower these burgers' flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Really good everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I have to say it was "fun" to make. I like the idea of sauted onions, sourcream/yogurt with horse radish, and all the seasonings...but something in there needs a tweak. I had to add bread crumbs too so it would hold together. Edit: My husband loved it, so I gave this a second try. I still had to add the bread crumbs. Half the cayenne makes the point. And I guess this recipe will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
These were spicy and had a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States