The Twenty Dollar Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Absolutely fantastic! Did once without cilantro (at the request of my mother) and then again later when she wasn't visiting. Personally, I think the cilantro really adds some zip to the whole thing - don't leave it out if you have the choice! Still, even without the cilantro, this is a GREAT recipe. Lots of zing and heat. Edit: If you're having trouble forming a patty with this recipe - An easy trick is to use two forks so that you don't over-handle the meat. Overlap pieces together, start small and work your way up, keeping the patty even throughout. Don't smash anything down! You might want to add a cup of oatmeal or breadcrumbs if you're really having a hard time of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ray

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
NO WAY would I pay $20 for this burger. I spent enough for the ingredients as is. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gina brown
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I made these last night and just had the last one for lunch..very good!! I'll be making these again and again;0) I didn't have cilantro but can't wait to make these with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
We have made this burger several times already... it is so delicious! It's also a fun one to experiment with, adding new and unique ingredients. A word of caution if you experiment though.... my husband and I did find is that if you add too many 'wet' ingredients, the burgers won't stick together and become difficult to grill. Perhaps the addition of breadcrumbs or instant rice might combat this. Otherwise, this burger gets our stamp of approval! It is PACKED with flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
These burgers were absolutely delicious, so flavorful. Served them at a BBQ and everyone ate them up. Loved the horseradish mayo, a real bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Good taste, but it was pretty hard to get them to stick together. If you squeeze the patties out inside paper towels before putting them on the grill, that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Everyone in my family LOVED this burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I made these for a house full of teenagers and I got great reviews. They said they were the best homemade hamburgers they ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborahwagoner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Good burger but a long list of ingredients for just a "good" burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Loved this burger!I never leave comments for recipes,but this was so good I just had to!I used sour cream instead of yogurt and I can defintly see why some people used breadcrumbs to help hold it together.I didn't but I dont see how they could do anything but help,I used a george foreman grill so no flipping was needed so that probably helped keep it together.So yummy defintly a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States