The Twenty Dollar Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
If you are looking for a quick fix, this is not your recipe. But if you want to make deluxe-burgers, go for it! I have done these burgers several times now and only get compliments. Only thing I recommend changing as other reviewers said is adding 1 cup of oats to be able to handle the meat easier. Also if you have kids, I would recommend cutting the black & cayenne pepper by half. Thank you for sharing this excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noggar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was really good, even my five year old liked it and he doesn't like much. I used regular hamburger instead of turkey and it turned out great, kinda Tex Mex tasting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Great burger! I used olive oil to saute the onions and garlic. I put a small amount of BBQ sauce and may on the bun with a fresh avocado and enjoyed bliss!! It turned out quite juicy as well. I will be making lots of these. I too went shopping for most of the ingredients and it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Good burger. I suggest using less cayenne & pepper... a wee bit spicy. Topped with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Good burger but a long list of ingredients for just a "good" burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Used 1/2 c. sr. cream (vs. 3/4 c. yogurt). Was still crumbly and too spicy for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
These were just ok. I was so excited after all the great reviews but they were very mushy. The only change I made was to substitute sour cream for the yogurt like others had done. The flavor was good but just too mushy. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This is a good burger. I doubled the recipe and followed it exactly until it was time to mix the seasoned yogurt in with the meat. I realized that if I mixed the entire amount I would have a soup that would not hold together on the grill. So I mixed what seemed to make sense and had about half the yogurt mixture left when I was done. Next time I might try the suggestion of mixing in some oatmeal to help them hold together. Anyway, everyone liked them at the party, even though my husband thought some may not. Even the well done burgers were juicy and full of flavor. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I made these for a house full of teenagers and I got great reviews. They said they were the best homemade hamburgers they ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborahwagoner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Loved this burger!I never leave comments for recipes,but this was so good I just had to!I used sour cream instead of yogurt and I can defintly see why some people used breadcrumbs to help hold it together.I didn't but I dont see how they could do anything but help,I used a george foreman grill so no flipping was needed so that probably helped keep it together.So yummy defintly a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States