The Talk of the Potluck Kale and Apple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rachel Traff
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Excellent balance of tastes and quite pretty to display as well. I used fresh pomegranate seeds instead of craisins, which tasted lovely! Great with or without the cheese. Also, it makes a huge difference to massage the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Traff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I didn't have dried cranberries, sunflower seeds, or Gorgonzola cheese. I used walnuts and didn't use any cheese. Next time I make I may add some goat cheese. This was an absolute hit for my husband and me. Next will be to make it for some of my picky family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Easy to make and tasty this salad is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this for the first time just last week as my husband had told he did not like kale. When he tasted this- I am now be making it for the third time. A few tweaks.. sometimes I use mandarin oranges and my olive oil has been either citrus or blood orange flavor. It was suggested to use rasberry vinegar so did that one with the oranges. Used goat cheese too. This evening, this will be served to our dinner guests while my husbands approval. What a switch from a week ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This recipe is really easy to make, and presents well. I added a touch more cider vinegar than the recipe called for and used bleu cheese rather then Gorgonzola. A great way to get in your greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
AWESOME!! Excellent! I loved everything about this salad! It is super healthy and very very tasty! I did cube up some avocado about 1/4 cups of diced onion and cilantro! This salad is super! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great salad, we both liked it. the fiancé even said " YOU HAVE TO make this for my parents" That alone says a lot, as they are very particular. We will definitely make this again. its so easy and you will get credit like its restaurant quality. Next time I may try it with pears or strawberries, the options are unlimited. Thanks Steinbachtroop for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was way to salty! I would eliminate the salt and salt at the table if necessary. For my taste, I would prefer nuts to the sunflower seeds. I love craisins and gorgonzola but I still thought this needed some additional seasoning, maybe rosemary?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This is a really easy, delicious, healthy salad. I omitted the cheese and didn't miss it at all, but I'm sure it's equally good with it. Great way to use up all of the kale from our garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States