The Supreme Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
I made this on a cold rainy night. I used leftover mashed potatoes and used jarred beef gravy. I also added canned string beans. Everyone in my family loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
really great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
I added corn, green beans and shredded cheddar cheese to the recipe and used instant mashed potatoes. It was great - a wonderful use for leftover roast beef. Even my husband liked it! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Outstanding! I fixed this tonight using leftover roast beef from last night's dinner. I sauteed red onions, mushrooms and garlic ~ then I placed them over the meat and poured mushroom gravy over the top. Followed by the mashed potatoes. I left the dish covered with foil during the first 30 minutes of cooking. I took the foil off for the last 30 minutes. I'll be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I've been making this for over a year now and we LOVE it! I cook my roast in the crockpot on HIGH for 6 hours (so it falls apart). Once shredded, I place it on the bottom of the baking dish. I saute onions and mushrooms and place that over the beef. Then the mashed potatoes go over that. Topped off with the juice from the crockpot pot. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This is a very quick and easy recipe. Not to mention a great way to use leftovers. Being Irish and growing up eating the food, I have to add that whenever Sheppards Pie is made with any meat other than lamb, its called Cottage Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Good recipe, made a few changes. I cooked my roast in the crock pot as well as the potatoes. So the potatoes got all that great juice from the roast to add extra flavour. I used more than a pound of meat so I made about 3 C. of brown gravy (We love our gravy!) This is a great basic recipe that you can really play with. Will deffinately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I didn't have onions on hand so I threw in some onion soup mix with this, and this disappeared so fast my head spun! When it comes out of the oven, let it set about 10 minutes so it's easier to slice and serves up neater. Brush some butter on top of the potatoes for a crusty top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Great old fashioned comfort food! I was looking for a way to use up a lot of beef gravy I had made and came across this recipe. I just also happened to have prepared the pot roast (super tender rump roast that had slow cooked all day with a little salt, pepper, and a can of low-salt beef broth) and mashed potatoes. So all I needed to do was cut up the roast into cubes and slice an onion. I used about 1-1/2 cups of gravy and would next time use a bit more. I assembled it, refrigerated it, and it was all ready to bake the next day. We all loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Good! This was a great way for me to use leftover pot roast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States