The Supreme Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was very good, I never had shepherd's pie with sliced roast beef but I thought it was a great way to use leftover roast beef! My son really liked this too but DH just thought it was pretty good. I had to add a can of corn for a bottom layer, and I'm glad I did. I also sauteed garlic & mushrooms with the onion to mix into the gravy - yum! We'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Been making this for years and we love it! I saute mushrooms, garlic and onions and top the meet with that before placing the mashed potatoes on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I make shepards pie regularly with ground beef but have never made it with roast beef. This was a great way to get rid of my leftover roast beef. I used this as a base adding a can of creamed corn a whole jar of savory beef gravy and 1/2 can of petite green peas. I omitted the onions and only used 1/2 lb or roast beef well shredded as this was all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
So simple and tasty, and a great way to use leftover roast beef and gravy. Would also be good with lamb or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was excellent and easy. I skipped the onions because my daughter hates them. I used leftover pot roast. We usually have shepherd's pie with veggies in it, but this worked well since I have four kids and they don't like the same veggies. We had the veggies as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Great way to use leftover pot roast! I added a can of mushrooms and a clove of minced garlic to the sauteed onions. Also used the mushroom gravy that the pot roast recipe produced. Husband loved it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wells, Maine, USA
Living In: Cobb Island, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Thanks! I added red peppers to it with the onions and it turned out great. I was wondering how I was going to use up my remaining roast beef and veggies and this solved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
What a great idea - shepherd's pie with roast beef! It totally avoids the hamburger feeling you usually get when eating ground beef. I didn't have any gravy, so I sauteed some onions in butter, then added sliced red pepper, frozen corn, and chopped carrots until they were soft. Then I poured 1/3 cup beef broth & a few TBSPs of Worchestershire sauce into the mix. I also added some garlic & fresh ground pepper, since I was afraid of it being bland. The result was awesome! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I did some slight changes to this recipe. I cubed the roast beef, then added some leftover mixed veggies and some home canned green beans and then since I didn't have any gravy I mixed 1 can cream of mushroom soup and 1/2 can milk then poured over the meat and veggies. Then I topped with the mashed potatoes. I only rated this 4 stars because some of my family liked this better with ground beef (how I normally make it). This will be a recipe I keep for when I need to use up leftover roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to find something exotically different to do with leftover roast beef, but didn't have the ingredients on hand for any I found so I settled on this one. I'm so very glad I did! It's delicious. I think it's the onions that make it, honestly this dish does not taste like leftovers at all. I threw in a few mixed veggies as well. Leftovers all taken care of at the same time. Got to love that and so did my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States