The Supreme Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was very good, I never had shepherd's pie with sliced roast beef but I thought it was a great way to use leftover roast beef! My son really liked this too but DH just thought it was pretty good. I had to add a can of corn for a bottom layer, and I'm glad I did. I also sauteed garlic & mushrooms with the onion to mix into the gravy - yum! We'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Been making this for years and we love it! I saute mushrooms, garlic and onions and top the meet with that before placing the mashed potatoes on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I make shepards pie regularly with ground beef but have never made it with roast beef. This was a great way to get rid of my leftover roast beef. I used this as a base adding a can of creamed corn a whole jar of savory beef gravy and 1/2 can of petite green peas. I omitted the onions and only used 1/2 lb or roast beef well shredded as this was all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
So simple and tasty, and a great way to use leftover roast beef and gravy. Would also be good with lamb or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was excellent and easy. I skipped the onions because my daughter hates them. I used leftover pot roast. We usually have shepherd's pie with veggies in it, but this worked well since I have four kids and they don't like the same veggies. We had the veggies as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Great way to use leftover pot roast! I added a can of mushrooms and a clove of minced garlic to the sauteed onions. Also used the mushroom gravy that the pot roast recipe produced. Husband loved it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wells, Maine, USA
Living In: Cobb Island, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Thanks! I added red peppers to it with the onions and it turned out great. I was wondering how I was going to use up my remaining roast beef and veggies and this solved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
What a great idea - shepherd's pie with roast beef! It totally avoids the hamburger feeling you usually get when eating ground beef. I didn't have any gravy, so I sauteed some onions in butter, then added sliced red pepper, frozen corn, and chopped carrots until they were soft. Then I poured 1/3 cup beef broth & a few TBSPs of Worchestershire sauce into the mix. I also added some garlic & fresh ground pepper, since I was afraid of it being bland. The result was awesome! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I did some slight changes to this recipe. I cubed the roast beef, then added some leftover mixed veggies and some home canned green beans and then since I didn't have any gravy I mixed 1 can cream of mushroom soup and 1/2 can milk then poured over the meat and veggies. Then I topped with the mashed potatoes. I only rated this 4 stars because some of my family liked this better with ground beef (how I normally make it). This will be a recipe I keep for when I need to use up leftover roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to find something exotically different to do with leftover roast beef, but didn't have the ingredients on hand for any I found so I settled on this one. I'm so very glad I did! It's delicious. I think it's the onions that make it, honestly this dish does not taste like leftovers at all. I threw in a few mixed veggies as well. Leftovers all taken care of at the same time. Got to love that and so did my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States