The Supreme Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
I added corn, green beans and shredded cheddar cheese to the recipe and used instant mashed potatoes. It was great - a wonderful use for leftover roast beef. Even my husband liked it! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Outstanding! I fixed this tonight using leftover roast beef from last night's dinner. I sauteed red onions, mushrooms and garlic ~ then I placed them over the meat and poured mushroom gravy over the top. Followed by the mashed potatoes. I left the dish covered with foil during the first 30 minutes of cooking. I took the foil off for the last 30 minutes. I'll be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I didn't have onions on hand so I threw in some onion soup mix with this, and this disappeared so fast my head spun! When it comes out of the oven, let it set about 10 minutes so it's easier to slice and serves up neater. Brush some butter on top of the potatoes for a crusty top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I've been making this for over a year now and we LOVE it! I cook my roast in the crockpot on HIGH for 6 hours (so it falls apart). Once shredded, I place it on the bottom of the baking dish. I saute onions and mushrooms and place that over the beef. Then the mashed potatoes go over that. Topped off with the juice from the crockpot pot. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This is a very quick and easy recipe. Not to mention a great way to use leftovers. Being Irish and growing up eating the food, I have to add that whenever Sheppards Pie is made with any meat other than lamb, its called Cottage Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I've been making this for a few years now and we just love it. I saute mushrooms with the onions and it's so good! This will forever stay in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Huge pot roast and I didn't know what to do with it! This is a great recipe. Prepare for lunch at work! I added 1/4 cup horseradish and scallions to the mashed potatoes for sophistication. I sauteed mushrooms for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Great old fashioned comfort food! I was looking for a way to use up a lot of beef gravy I had made and came across this recipe. I just also happened to have prepared the pot roast (super tender rump roast that had slow cooked all day with a little salt, pepper, and a can of low-salt beef broth) and mashed potatoes. So all I needed to do was cut up the roast into cubes and slice an onion. I used about 1-1/2 cups of gravy and would next time use a bit more. I assembled it, refrigerated it, and it was all ready to bake the next day. We all loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
I made this on a cold rainy night. I used leftover mashed potatoes and used jarred beef gravy. I also added canned string beans. Everyone in my family loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This recipe is awesome! We have this like every 2 weeks that is how good it is!YUM YUM! Thank you for the recipe! Happy Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Firehouse Shepherd's Pie

Watch the firefighters of New City prepare shepherd’s pie for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States