The Sarge's Goetta - German Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was ok. Nothing that I would make again though. The trick to these, you have to slice it very very thin and fry it on a low setting for a longer period of time. If you don't - like mine, they will taste a bit mushy in your mouth. Smelled great when cooked in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I wouldn't change a thing. Great dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Zuch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I was very unsure of this recipe, cause I'm not an oatmeal person. But this recipe was awesome and I will make it again. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This sounded so interesting to me I had to try it! I did cut the recipe in half...glad I did because it made SO much. I might spray the crock pot with "Pam" next time...the oats stuck for me, as one other person mentioned. Also, I don't know why, but my slices kind of go to mush when I fry them...guess I need to us a teflon pan. But, all in all, I really enjoyed the recipe and will make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
My husband was very skeptical when he saw how much was in the crock pot and no matter what I told him about the rave reviews this recipe receives convinced him that it would taste like his favorite (Gliers)- until he tried it the next morning! He said it was delicious. Since it made so much, I gave my dad a 'loaf' and he says it's the best he's ever had. I usually don't fry my goetta in oil or butter, but rely on the fat in the product. I'll use butter or a little bit of oil next time since the fat was absorbed by the oats. I had little refrigerator space and it was late when the product finished cooking, so I put the mixture into a 9 x 13 pan, evened it out and let it cool off a bit at room temperature before putting it into the refrigerator. The next morning, I turned it out onto waxed paper and cut it into 3 loaves. I plan to freeze the 3rd- but next time, I'll cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Tried this. Worked great. Did make a few changes. Used only pork (meat from pork neck bones cooked for 2 hrs). Added 1 bay leaf and 1/2 tsp. sage. As good or better than Gliers in Cincinnati, OH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I couldn't wait to try this, so I paid a high price at the health food store for the oats. It wasn't difficult to make and my family loves it. I froze it on a wax papered cookie sheet and then put into freezer bags. This will be a regular for us. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beattyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
We moved from Cincinnati 10 years ago and I was ordering goetta online for $90 for 24 rolls. I saw this recipe and made it today. Wow, just like we remembered. The kids came running, "it smells like goetta". I didn't have a crock pot big enough so I used the stove top. It only took an hour to cook the oats and 2 hours for the meat. I think next time I'll add all pork instead of the beef. I also made a vegy batch for one of my girls that doesn't eat meat by using soy crumbles. I didn't think it was as good but she really enjoyed it. This recipe was much healthier than the stuff I used to buy in Cincinnati (don't read the ingredient list unless you want to make yourself ill). Thank you, thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This stuff is good! I think it might be an acquired taste though because the more I ate the better it got, and the crispier it was the better too. Very easy to make it just takes quite a long time. I think next time I'll probably cut back on the cooking time for the steel cut oats because I had about an inch stuck to the bottom of my crock pot when I finished the 90 minutes. Also, it might be easier to take all the ingredients after the oats are cooked, and mix them in a large bowl before transferring them back into the crockpot because it was hard to mix all together in the crockpot. I just went ahead and refrigerated this overnight because it took so long we went out to eat and I finished cooking the goetta the next morning. I might consider trying to cut this recipe in half next time because it makes a ton. I'm used to making big meals, but this was just overwhelming. It completely fills the crockpot. And when your only cutting thin slices to fry it goes a long way. I'm thinking about freezing the leftovers. I'm not sure if that will work out in the end, but it's worth a try. If you like to cook and don't mind the time it takes, and like to try new things, especially foods from Germany, Hungary, Poland, ect. try this I think it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Malvern, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Far more work that it is worth, would rather have a plain old sausage pattie. This must be an aquired taste. If you have never tried it I suggest you cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States