The Sarge's Goetta - German Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is good stuff. I think possibly the bad reviews came from folks using oatmeal instead of steel-cut oats, that seems to be the secret. Otherwise you will end up with mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junkerjunk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
My boyfriend is from Cincy and he kept talking about this goetta. I have never had or even heard of it before. I found this recipe and told him about it. He was so excited!! I decided to try it yesterday. He said it was exactly like he remembered! I made it exactly like instructed only cutting it down in size. It still made six 1 pound loaves. So it looks like we will be having goetta for a while. I'm glad that I enjoyed it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
My Grandma cooks this for our family every family get together. Very southern Ohio from our German family. Gets me homesick everytime! It's hard to find the steel-cut oats out here in AZ. This recipe is about as close as it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Very, very "Cincinnati" ! If you are having trouble with frying slices, try coating the slice lighty with flour on both sides before placing in a hot, non-stick, pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mark Christopher

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reading, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I even tried using the "mess" for meatloaf to salvage the meat in it and it was hopeless. I have no idea how anyone can slice this. Also, I halved the recipe and it's a good thing because my large crock pot was filled to the max once the oatmeal cooked. This must be an aquired taste. The texture was just horrid. Perhaps about one-fourth the quantity of oatmeal would make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This may well be the most authentic rendition of this time-honored Cincinnati classic! Slice it thin and fry it crisp. I have tried substituting ground turkey(to lower total cholesteral) for half of the meat (50/50) with decent results. Don't be afraid to try this - It's cheap to make and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mark Christopher

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Tasted okay, but I could not get it to hold together for slicing. What I ended up with was sort of "goetta hash." It was okay, but it reminded me quite a bit of holiday stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This is a great recipe. We have had a similar version of this recipe in our family for many generations. My only suggestion is add 1 1/2 cups barley in the slow cooker along with the steel cut oats, with an additional cup and a half of water. Great, great, great, must try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This will probably be the 5th time I'm gonna make this...love it. Even my kids love it too and I love that they're getting their fiber and protein. I do use lean ground beef and less fat sausage and that doesn't seem to cause a problem. I do always half the recipe because it makes a bunch. Also wanted to add that if you freeze portions, it makes it easier to slice and cook when it's only partially thawed...otherwise can be crumbly when frying. I also use a nonstick pan which is well coated with cooking spray. It gets nice and crunchy...thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is a great recipe and tastes very close to a commercial goetta I've had many times in the Cincinnati area. It is a long process but worth it in the end. When you cook it it should be sliced thin and cooked over a low heat until crisp on the first side, this will help keep it from falling apart. I also don't fry it in oil but use a dry, non-stick pan. I've found that adding oil causes it to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States