The Sarge's Goetta - German Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I prepared this yesterday and tried frying it for breakfast today. I'm not impressed. Other than using ground pork instead of sausage and halving the recipe, I followed the directions exactly. The flavour is alright (a little glue-y for my tastes and could do with some spices I've seen in other traditional goetta recipes), but it fell apart in the pan. I cooked it in bacon grease and left it until it was good and crispy, but with no luck. It's a lot of work for such a bland and messy dish. I think I'll keep trying goetta recipes until I find one that works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeannine1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Am looking forward to trying this. Having grown up in the Pennsylvania area I would imagine that this goetta is a version of Scrapple, which is an awsome dish and i have rarely seen scrapple outside of PA. Scrapple uses cornmeal instead of oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I put alot more seasonings in my Goetta,and cook it less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
GREAT recipe! so easy and better tasting than in the store. I live in central ohio and can't get it unless I travel to Cincy, now I can have it whenever I want! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loritufts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I thought it tasted very good. However it wouldnt hold together to fry the slices. I know this kills the easy factor but next time I will make it in the more traditional way by handstirring it, that should make it more uniform and sticky. Also was too greasy for my tastes. next time I will prefry the meats before adding to the oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The true recipe use ground pork not ground pork sausage. Using ground pork sausage will make it taste spicy and the true goetta is not spicy. I have tried both and perfer non spicy. Great recipe though.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutter bug 1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
***** Just an afterthought - for those who have not tried Goetta. Goetta should be sliced thin and fried until a real, nice, crisp crust forms before trying to turn it. Then it won't stick or fall apart on you when you flip it over. The crust holds it all together and gives it so much flavor and it's never mushy. Goetta always freezes very well, so keep some on hand. Leftover fried Goetta warms up nicely the next day also, even in the microwave (on medium). I hope this helps. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Not at all what I was expecting. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. I like to try new things..and maybe the reviewers were right this might be an acquired taste that I just don't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
What a treat to see this as the recipe of the day ! This is a great recipe and very close to what my mom and grandmother used to make when I was a kid in Cincy. Even tho' I live in the west now...this recipe has become a favorite with our family. The grandkids love it... and always remind me to make it for family camping trips. Thanks for the great recipe Sarge. L.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is good stuff. I think possibly the bad reviews came from folks using oatmeal instead of steel-cut oats, that seems to be the secret. Otherwise you will end up with mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junkerjunk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States