The Sarge's Goetta - German Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
i followed this to the letter. it will not firm up to cut - its just mush - like oatmeal but half as thick. will not brown. the only part that will brown will not come off the pan. will not hold any sort of form it spreads out like a pan cake once it warmed up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is a really good recipe! I've only had the store bought brand here in Cinci before trying this and it was very similar! I used turkey and it came out great. I also have never had it in patties. We always have mashed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I prepared this yesterday and tried frying it for breakfast today. I'm not impressed. Other than using ground pork instead of sausage and halving the recipe, I followed the directions exactly. The flavour is alright (a little glue-y for my tastes and could do with some spices I've seen in other traditional goetta recipes), but it fell apart in the pan. I cooked it in bacon grease and left it until it was good and crispy, but with no luck. It's a lot of work for such a bland and messy dish. I think I'll keep trying goetta recipes until I find one that works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeannine1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Am looking forward to trying this. Having grown up in the Pennsylvania area I would imagine that this goetta is a version of Scrapple, which is an awsome dish and i have rarely seen scrapple outside of PA. Scrapple uses cornmeal instead of oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I put alot more seasonings in my Goetta,and cook it less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
GREAT recipe! so easy and better tasting than in the store. I live in central ohio and can't get it unless I travel to Cincy, now I can have it whenever I want! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loritufts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I thought it tasted very good. However it wouldnt hold together to fry the slices. I know this kills the easy factor but next time I will make it in the more traditional way by handstirring it, that should make it more uniform and sticky. Also was too greasy for my tastes. next time I will prefry the meats before adding to the oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The true recipe use ground pork not ground pork sausage. Using ground pork sausage will make it taste spicy and the true goetta is not spicy. I have tried both and perfer non spicy. Great recipe though.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutter bug 1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
***** Just an afterthought - for those who have not tried Goetta. Goetta should be sliced thin and fried until a real, nice, crisp crust forms before trying to turn it. Then it won't stick or fall apart on you when you flip it over. The crust holds it all together and gives it so much flavor and it's never mushy. Goetta always freezes very well, so keep some on hand. Leftover fried Goetta warms up nicely the next day also, even in the microwave (on medium). I hope this helps. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Not at all what I was expecting. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. I like to try new things..and maybe the reviewers were right this might be an acquired taste that I just don't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States